2019年值得期待的10位摄影师!


去年,我们报道了10位你必须知道的中国当代摄影师,他们都是2017年集美·阿尔勒发现奖的提名者,这是中国最富盛名的摄影奖项之一,该奖项将奖励一位艺术家在次年于世界著名的法国阿尔勒摄影节上举办展览的机会和20万人民币的奖金。

在这篇文章中,我们将介绍2018年集美·阿尔勒发现奖的提名者。年龄在22岁到38岁之间,这十位提名者是当今中国的一面镜子,他们将镜头对准不同的主题包括情侣、亲密、性别认同、自我表现、回忆收藏、公共和私人城市空间、媒体和社交网络、大规模生产与消费、全球化交流等主题。

继朱岚清、刘思麟和冯立后,2018年获奖者雷磊将有机会在明年的法国阿尔勒摄影节上展出他的作品《周末》。而廖逸君赢得了第二届集美·阿尔勒-Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖。

戴建勇

1976年出生于江西省婺源县。生活和工作于上海。

戴建勇,又名Coca Dai,2000年开始摄影做自由摄影师至今。他的个人成长经历和上海普通家庭的生活变迁时期摄影项目的主要创作灵感来源,许多作品都体现了相关主题 。他的照片具有明显的自发的、快拍式的、纪实的风格,这种风格以一种毫无遮掩的叙述,以影像呈现充满激情又残酷的视角下的当代中国社会。

其作品展出于2010年草场地艺术之春,2012年他获得了山西平遥国际摄影节奖。2016年作品参加第11届上海双年展“谷神变”展览。他曾两次参加纽约艺术家驻地计划,芬兰艺术家驻地计划。

Instagram

阅读Lens Culture关于戴建勇的报道文

廖逸君

1979年生于上海,现居纽约。

她的长期摄影项目“实验性关系”挑战了传统的性别观念。女性身份也是她其他影像和雕塑作品的主题。在看了电影《放大》她对摄影产生兴趣,进而去美国学习摄影。她的作品曾在何香凝美术馆、纽约性博物馆、亚洲协会休斯顿分馆、上海 K11美术馆、Leo Xu Projects、纽约花画廊、Metro Pictures画廊展览。她获得的奖项包括纽约艺术基金会奖金,En Foco新作品大奖,LensCulture的曝光奖等。她是2018集美· 阿尔勒 - Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖获奖人

pixyliao.com

Instagram

阅读门艺对廖逸君的采访

苏杰浩

1988 年出生于广东。生活和工作于美国普罗维登斯。

苏杰浩曾就读于北京电影学院,并于美国罗德岛设计学院获得纯艺术硕士学位。他的作品多次在国内外展出,包括巴黎凯布朗利博物馆, 北威州论坛美术馆,雅典贝纳基博物馆,新墨西哥州立大学美术馆,贝尔法斯特艺术中心 ,以及三影堂摄影艺术中心等。他曾获得玛格南 30 Under 30,意大利 Gabriele Basilico 摄影奖,杜塞尔多夫摄影周 Arte 创意奖,英国 Format 摄影节 IdeasTap 奖,以及 Feature Shoot 摄影奖等。苏杰浩曾作为驻地艺术家参加丹麦 Independent A.I.R. 驻留项目以及瑞士 SMArt 驻留项目。

jiehaosu.com

Instagram

胡伟

生于1989年。生活并工作于北京。

2012年毕业于中央美术学院绘画专业并获学士学位,2016年毕业于Dutch Art Institute (DAI)获硕士学位。胡伟的创作涉及了多种媒介,试图在外在现实与“艺术叙述”之间建立起联系,关注技术与人状态的调解或不可调和的现象以及新出现的政治、经济、道德关系问题。曾参加过的展览有:抵抗的涌现(泰康空间,2016)、Collective Disorder / After Speaking (Greylight计划,布鲁塞尔,2016)、上海种子-奇点(喜马拉雅美术馆,2016)等。

hu-wei.com

Instagram

邵睿璐

1993年出生,江苏苏州人。目前生活于苏州和杭州。

2008年高中毕业于中国美术学院附属中等美术学校。2015年本科毕业于中国美术学院跨媒体艺术学院实验艺术系,并被保送为该系研究生,师从邱志杰教授。2017年参加第三届跨文化合作硕士联合课程并由苏黎世艺术大学颁发证书。2018年7月硕士毕业,毕业作品获得林风眠创作金奖。传统绘画出生,目前作品多为当代艺术创作方向,融合绘画、动画、录像、装置、摄影等多种创作手法。研究生阶段主攻静物摄影。

黄永生

1990年出生于广东。生活和工作于香港。

黄永生四岁随父移居香港。2013年获中文大学艺术系张氏创作奖。创作关注当代社会的组成和潜在规则,以及个人于其中的存活状态。近期思考运用现成物件和影像建构比喻,探索日常语言外的微细情绪和灰色领域。近期展览包括个展《最慢的风》(广州画廊,广州,中国,2018),部分联展:《陈拍岸、黄永生、伍思波》(Tabula Rasa Gallery,北京,中国,2018)、《照相亭》(ParaSite,巴塞尔艺术展,香港,2017)等。

www.wongwingsang.com

Instagram

刘卫

1982年出生于香港。生活和工作于香港及紐約。

她获伦敦大学金匠学院纯艺术学士学位 ,现于美国哥伦比亚大学,视觉艺术硕士课程就读。作品展出于巴塞尔艺术展香港展会、OCAT当代艺术中心深圳馆 及上海馆、丹麦欧登塞Brandts博物馆、法国博韦Les Photaumnales、新加坡当代艺术中心、香港Para Site 艺术空间、北京三影堂摄影艺术中心、日本大地艺术祭等。

www.wai-lau.com

雷磊

1985 年出生于江西省南昌市。生活和工作于北京及洛杉矶。

独立动画导演,创作同时涉及录像,绘画,装置和音乐现场演出
2007 年本科毕业于清华大学美术学院动画专业,
2009 年获得清华大学美术学院信息艺术硕士学位。2010 年动画《这个念头是爱》获得渥太华 国际动画节最佳动画短片奖。2013 年动画《照片回收》入选昂西国际动画节,获得荷兰国际动 画节最佳动画短片奖。2014 年担任萨各勒布国际动画节,荷兰国际动画节评委。同年获得亚洲文化协会蔡国强奖学金。2017 年任教于洛杉矶加州艺术学院CalAts实验动画专业。

vimeo.com/user1260672

Instagram

阅读门艺对雷磊的采访

沈玮

1977年出生在上海。现居住工作在纽约。

他先后在明尼阿珀波斯艺术与设计学院和纽约视觉艺术学院学习摄影并获取摄影和影像纯艺术学士和硕士学位。他的作品以个人情感为线索,极具诗意和感性。其中最为人熟知的是他的自拍系列《已经想念你》。沈玮曾获得洛克菲勒基金会Bellagio驻地艺术家奖(2009),纽约艺术基金会(NYFA)摄影基金奖(2016),亚洲文化协会艺术基金奖(2012),纽约城市艺术家倡议奖(UAI/NYC 2008),和曼哈顿下城文化协会(LMCC)艺术基金奖(2007、2008)。

shenwei.studio

Instagram

杨文彬

1996年出生于山东济宁。生活和工作于北京。

杨文彬2018年毕业于中国传媒大学摄影系。作品《大盛世》曾在2015年获第五届丽水摄影节新人资助奖,作品《大学社会》曾获2017年映·纪实影像奖摄影师大奖。他曾入围第八届三影堂摄影奖;2016年受网易委托创作《欢愉之镜》展览于连州摄影年展。 

www.wenbinfoto.com

Instagram


注:艺术家按姓氏字母顺序排名。10名艺术家均是2018集美·阿尔勒发现奖提名艺术家,这一奖项创立于2015年。每年由5名策展人提名10名艺术家。获奖者获得20万元人民币奖金以及法国阿尔勒摄影节参展机会。20178年5名策展人分别是:董冰峰李杰刘倩兮容思玉王岩

更多信息:https://www.jimeiarles.com/jimei-arles-discovery-award/2018/

10 Chinese Photographers To Watch in 2019

Last year, we covered 10 Contemporary Chinese Photographers You Should Know, who were all nominees for the 2017 Jimei x Arles Discovery Award, one of the most prestigious photography awards in China, rewarding an artist with an exhibition at world-famous Rencontres d’Arles festival the following year as well as a 200,000 RMB prize.

In this post, we are introducing the 2018 Jimei x Arles Discovery Award nominees. Aged between 22 and 38, the ten nominees of the Discovery Award are a mirror on today's China, with their focus on topics including the couple, intimacy, gender identities, self-representation, collective memory, public and private urban space, media and social networks, mass production and consumption, globalized exchanges...

Following in the footsteps of Zhu Lanqing, Liu Silin and Feng Li, Lei Lei, the 2018 winner, will have the chance to be exhibited at Rencontres d'Arles next year with his work Weekend. Pixy Liao won the second edition of the Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award.

Coca Dai

Born 1976, Wuyuan County, Jiangxi Province, China. Lives and works in Shanghai.

Dai Jianyong, also known as Coca Dai, has been actively working as a freelance artist in photography since 2000. His personal family history and Shanghai daily life are of great inspiration to his photographic projects, and a number of his works address related topics. His photographs are distinguished by a spontaneous, snapshot, documentary style which stands out in its unapologetic ability to narrate with images a passionate and brutal perspective of contemporary Chinese society.

Dai Jianyong’s projects have been displayed in group and solo exhibitions, such as 2010 Beijing Caochangdi Photography Spring Festival, 2012 Pingyao International Photography Festival (Award winner) and the 11th Shanghai Biennale Exhibition (2016). He has been on artistic residency programs in New York and Finland.

Instagram

Read Lens Culture’s article about Coca Dai

Pixy Liao

Born 1979, Shanghai, China. Lives and works in New York, USA.

Born and raised in Shanghai, Pixy Liao currently resides in New York. Her long-term photo project Experimental Relationship challenges conventional ideas of gender dynamics. She also explores female identity in video and sculpture. Liao began being interested in photography after watching Antonioni’s film Blow-up, followed by pursuing photography in the United States. Her works have been shown at He Xiangning Art Museum, Museum of Sex, Asia Society, Shanghai K11, Leo Xu Projects, Metro Pictures, Flower Gallery, etc. She is a recipient of NYFA Fellowship in photography, En Foco's New Works Fellowship and LensCulture Exposure Awards. She was awarded the 2018 Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award.

pixyliao.com

Instagram

Read our interview of Pixy Liao

Su Jiehao

Born 1988, Guangdong, China. Lives and works in Providence, United States.

Su Jiehao studied at the Beijing Film Academy and holds an M.F.A. from the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). Su’s work has been exhibited internationally in venues including the Musée du Quai Branly (France), NRW Forum (Germany), Benaki Museum (Greece), UNM Art Museum (USA), and Three Shadows Photography Art Centre (China). Su has received the Magnum 30 Under 30, Gabriele Basilico Prize (Italy), Arte Creative Award (Germany), IdeasTap Award (UK), and an Emerging Photography Award (USA). He has been an Artist-in-Residence at Independent A.I.R. in Denmark and SMArt in Switzerland.

jiehaosu.com

Instagram

Hu Wei

Born 1989. Lives and works in Beijing, China.

Hu Wei graduated from the Painting Department of CAFA in 2012, and obtained an MA at Dutch Art Institute in 2016. His practice takes various media to establish an artistic relationship between the reality (non-artistic gesture) and “art tales”. Combining the observation of individuality and social realism, recently he is exploring the mediation or irreconcilable phenomenology between technology and the human condition, in which the emerging political, economic, ethical issues are embedded. The exhibitions Hu has participated in include: Towards the Emergence of Resistance (Taikang Space, 2016), Collective Disorder / After Speaking (Greylight Projects, Brussels), Shanghai Project-Qidian (Himalayas Museum, 2016), among others.

hu-wei.com

Instagram

Shao Ruilu

Born 1993, Suzhou (Jiangsu Province), China. Lives and works in Suzhou and Hangzhou, China.

Shao Ruilu graduated from High School of China Academy of Art in 2008, with a B.A from the School of Intermedia Art of China Academy of Art in 2015, and Masters degree under the direction of professor and artist Qiu Zhijie in 2018. Her graduation artwork won the Lin Fengmian Gold Award. In 2017, she participated in the Transcultural Collaboration Program at Zurich University of the Arts. Shao Ruilu's art practice covers film and video, painting, animation and installation. Recently, she has focused on photography, especially still-life photography.

Wong Wingsang

Born 1990, Guangdong, China. Lives and works in Hong Kong.

Wong Wingsang moved to Hong Kong with his father at the age of 4. He got the Cheung's Fine Arts Award in 2013, while he was studying Fine Arts in CUHK. His artworks were exhibited in Hong Kong, Taiwan and Mainland China. His artistic creation focuses on the composition of contemporary society, as well as the unspoken rules and the personal subsistence state in it. He currently tries to use ready-made objects and images to build metaphors, exploring the subtle emotions and gray zone beyond everyday language. Recent exhibitions include solo exhibition The Slowest Wind (Canton Gallery, Guangzhou, 2018), group exhibition Chen Pai'an, Wong Wing Sang, Wu Sibo (Tabula Rasa Gallery, Beijing, 2018), Photo booth (ParaSite, Art Basel HK, Hong Kong, 2017), among others.

www.wongwingsang.com

Instagram

Lau Wai

Born 1982, Hong Kong. Lives and works in Hong Kong and New York, USA.

Lau Wai graduated from Goldsmiths, University of London with a bachelor’s degree in Fine Art and she is currently studying MFA in Visual Arts at Columbia University. Her works were exhibited at Art Basel Hong Kong; OCAT Shenzhen; OCAT Shanghai; Brandts Museum, Odense, Denmark; Les Photaumnales, Beauvais, France; Institute of Contemporary Arts, Singapore; Para Site, Hong Kong; Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, Beijing; Echigo Tsumari Art Triennale, Japan. 

www.wai-lau.com

Lei Lei

Born 1985, Nanchang (Jiangxi Province), China. Lives and works in Beijing, China, and Los Angeles, USA.

Lei Lei is an experimental animation artist with his hands on video arts, painting, installation, music and VJ performance. In 2009 he earned a master's degree in animation from Tsinghua University. In 2010, his film This is LOVE was shown at Ottawa International Animation Festival and awarded the 2010 Best Narrative Short. In 2013 his film Recycled was selected by Annecy festival and was the Winner Grand Prix shorts - non-narrative at Holland International Animation Film Festival. In 2014 he was part of the Jury of Zagreb / Holland International Animation Film Festival, and on the same year won the 2014 Asian Cultural Council grant. In 2017, Lei Lei was enrolled as a faculty member of CalArts Experimental Animation program in California.

vimeo.com/user1260672

Instagram

Read our interview of Lei Lei

Shen Wei

Born 1977, Shanghai, China. Lives and works in New York City.

Shen Wei is known for his intimate portraits of others and himself, as well as his poetic landscape and still-life photography. He holds an MFA in photography, video, and related media from the School of Visual Arts, New York; and a BFA in photography from Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Shen Wei is a recipient of the Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center Arts Residency, the Asian Cultural Council Arts & Religion Fellowship, the New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship, and the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council Arts Grant. 

shenwei.studio

Instagram

Yang Wenbin

Born 1996, Jining, Shandong. Lives and works in Beijing

Yang Wenbin graduated from the Communication University of China in 2018. His work Golden Age won the Lishui Photography Festival funding award in 2015. In 2017, Society of University won the New Documentaries Prize sponsored by Inter Art Center. He was shortlisted for the 8th Three Shadows Photography Award. His exhibition of Euphoric Mirror in Lianzhou Foto 2016 was commissioned by NetEase.

www.wenbinfoto.com

Instagram


Note: The artists are the 10 nominees for the Discovery Award of the Jimei x Arles International Photo Festival, created in 2015. Every year, ten talents are nominated by five curators. At stake is an award of 200,000 RMB (25,000 Euros) and an exhibition at the prestigious Rencontres d’Arles the following year. In 2018, the nominees were selected by curators Dong Bingfeng, Li Jie, Chelsea Qianxi Liu, Holly Roussell and Wang Yan. More information: https://www.en.jimeiarles.com/jimei-x-arles-discovery-award/2018/