曹斐,艺术家:“不同的表达,找到需要适合表达的媒体。 ”

曹斐

曹斐

曹斐,1978年出生于中国广州,是中国当代最著名的艺术家之一。她的艺术实践很明显地受到过去30年来中国发生的巨大转变的影响。在涉及全球化社会和劳动力的主题上引起了国际层面的共鸣。她的艺术语言介于现实与幻想之间。它将电影、动画、角色扮演、音乐(粤语流行音乐和嘻哈音乐)和社交媒体等流行文化和游戏文化的元素转化为幽默而迷人的作品,反映了我们不断变化的当代环境。

她最近展览包括“Cao Fei”,杜塞尔多夫K21现代美术馆和第九届亚太三年展(2018-2019); “在过满的世界挖一个洞”, 香港大馆当代美术馆(2018年);纽约古根海姆博物馆的“单手拍手”(2018年); “广东快车”, 香港M+ 视觉文化博物馆的(2017年); “Cao Fei”,纽约现代艺术博物馆和第9届柏林双年展(2016年),第56届威尼斯双年展和曼彻斯特惠特沃思美术馆(2015年);和“谁的乌托邦?”,罗马Maxxi博物馆(2014年)。

曹斐于2010年入围著名的Hugo Boss艺术奖(与古根海姆基金会合作),并于2016年入选第10届中国当代艺术奖最佳艺术家。她还代表中国出席了2007年第52届威尼斯双年展。她的作品出现在世界上一些主要的永久性公共收藏中,如蓬皮杜中心、泰特美术馆、古根海姆博物馆、纽约现代艺术博物馆、香港M +视觉文化博物馆和法兰克福现代艺术博物馆。

她的最新个展“Cao Fei: HX”于6月5日在巴黎蓬皮杜艺术中心开幕,值此机会,门艺对她进行了专访。 

Cao Fei:HX”包含了全新的作品。这包括一部长篇电影《NOVA》,一系列视频,照片和档案材料,以及主要依据艺术家调研所创作的装置。作品标题“HX”取自曹斐在北京的工作室附近的社区。其工作室是一个废弃的社区电影院改造而成,靠近建立在老工厂上的著名的798艺术区。 20世纪50年代,该区域许多建筑物和设施都是在前苏联的技术援助下开发和建造的,其中大部分是专门为生产电子产品而设计的,第一台中国制造的电脑也在此发明。在此之后,社区发生了重大变化,许多工厂停止运营,社区区域被指定进行改造。“HX”是艺术家和她的团队在近四年内对该地区的艰苦研究的结果,在此过程中揭示了一个社区的丰富性和多样性的快速消失。此外,以对历史的研究和运用为出发点,她还重新叙述和重新想象一个快速现代化国家中不断变化的社区及其居民的过去,现在和未来。

 

您即将举办的个展“Cao Fei : HX”包括许多不同的材料和作品:电影,摄影,装置...而且看起来非常有个性:名字HX,也是您在北京的工作室的所处的地区的名字,靠近798艺术区——这是一个有着近工业化痕迹的地方。蓬皮杜艺术中心描述这个展览是“(您的)长期研究项目红霞的国际首演”。您能简单为我们介绍一下这个项目,以及您与您的团队是如何让这个项目变的活灵活现的呢?

HX是个代号,比如798,751,718,都是当时的工厂代号,这些工厂当时生产什么,外面的人是不知道的。这个项目持续接近4年,过程中不断和不同领域的学者专家们(涉及:建筑、城市规划、电影史、技术史等)一起讨论交流,从不同的角度,基于中国电子工业历史的角度出发,去发掘其和当代连接的关系。 

我生活和工作所处的位置,是新中国建国后重要的中国电子工业发源地,经过了改革开放的洗礼,今天这个区域除了如798、751厂向艺术产业转型外,其他厂区陆续转型为以汇聚互联网科技公司的电子城产业,比如360公司、58同城、携程等著名的互联网公司。HX项目一方面是对这段前工业历史进行艺术化的拾遗补漏,并且通过一部科幻艺术电影《新星》(NOVA)来重新想象科技的过去和未来。

曹斐,《红霞影剧院内部》,2018,致谢曹斐和维他命艺术空间

曹斐,《红霞影剧院内部》,2018,致谢曹斐和维他命艺术空间

我生活和工作所处的位置,是新中国建国后重要的中国电子工业发源地,经过了改革开放的洗礼,今天这个区域除了如798、751厂向艺术产业转型外,其他厂区陆续转型为以汇聚互联网科技公司的电子城产业,比如360公司、58同城、携程等著名的互联网公司。HX项目一方面是对这段前工业历史进行艺术化的拾遗补漏,并且通过一部科幻艺术电影《新星》(NOVA)来重新想象科技的过去和未来。

poster+nova+film+by+cao+fei.jpg

曹斐, NOVA 预告片, 2019。

此外,此次展览将是蓬皮杜艺术中心首次举办的中国艺术家个展。您对这件事有什么感想?您已经于世界各地举行过个展(中国、日本、新西兰、英国、美国...),包括2008年在巴黎Le Plateau,和2003年已经在蓬皮杜艺术中心参加过一个群展。这次在蓬皮杜艺术中心举办的个展对你有什么改变呢?你对法国公众有什么特别的期待呢?

蓬皮杜馆长对我说:“你现在是国际艺术家了”。那意味着2003年我参加蓬皮杜举行的第一个中国大展的时,我还是一个“中国艺术家”。一个记者问我:你是怎么想的那些要给西方观众看到的中国作品?一方面人们认为你如今是属于国际的,但你依然可能是一个携带西方视点的中国作品。我并没有构建和输出一个西方想象的中国,但我并不介意里面存在的文化误读,我成长在中国最为澎湃发展的全球化运动高潮之际,接触来自各种国家的文化,它让我再去关注中国当下时自然而然多了更为立体的视点。

在您的作品中,您掌握大量的不同的材料,例如视频、装置、表演、电子媒体。通过这种方式,您似乎模糊了通常在不同类型的艺术之间绘制的界限,并在这些不同类型之间创建了联系和讨论。 您是否一直对使用各种不同的设备感兴趣?

不同的表达,找到需要适合表达的媒体。我喜欢体现主题的丰富性,也喜欢尝试各种方式去表现它们,以及尝试在表现主题、对象与对应媒介之间能够组合出不同的可能性,因为有时候,你永远不知道它们在一起将会如何产生何种化学反应,让你期待。但媒介都是其次,我更在乎“感情”,我对项目的感情,有感情了,才能足以表现它们,无论是人,还是物,是时间,还是历史。

大多数您的作品的共同点是对当今中国不断变化的移动的城市和社会景观的兴趣,以及它影响中国年轻人生活的方式,以及数字网络和虚拟环境的演变。 你是如何受到启发的? 您如何看待这些虚拟工具的兴起和发展?

我觉得China's Youth只是创作生涯的其中一个关注,直到现在,依然看到很多介绍里依然称我为“年轻艺术家”而不是“艺术家”。我当然享受这个“年轻”的title,但我不能霸占这个“年轻”的称号,因为我不足以继续代表年轻人以及他们的文化。

我很感性,也有理性,没有计划,也很能规划,人很松弛也很紧张。我一直说,我的灵感可以来自Anywhere, 来自各种可能性,但稍微总结了一下好像离不开几个关键词:现象学层面上的,变化中的,群体的,宏大的,情感化的……

虚拟工具,创新性媒介,别滥用,可以尝试,如果题材不适合用的时候没必要为了用而用,但需要了解掌握它的变化,因为这都是改变人类表达的工具,不仅仅在艺术层面,我们获取视觉和信息的方式将要改变,评价世界参与世界的方式也将改变。

您的作品已经在中国和全世界都展出过,中国观众和西方观众对您的作品的反应有什么不同吗?

西方观众在整体文化上受教育程度比较高,他们更愿意去理解作品的内在,无论他们来自各个行业领域,他们认为艺术是思想的、精神的,愿意通过作品去理解世界,理解不同地区的文化。在中国,在艺术方面特别是当代艺术方面长期缺乏重视,缺乏普及教育,因此当中国观众听到“艺术”二字,都会说搞不太懂。相比来说年轻一代的观众希望了解的意愿更为强烈,因为他们通过互联网对当代文化有一定感知,出去留学回来人群越来越多,我希望中国观众对当代艺术的关注能有所变化。

点击此处通过艺术家个人网站了解更多关于曹斐的信息,或者关注她的Instagram

Cao Fei, artist: “I believe different kinds of feelings have to find their own media”

Cao Fei

Cao Fei

 

Beijing-based, Cao Fei (born 1978 in Guangzhou, China) is one of the most celebrated Chinese artists working today. Aspects of her practice are clearly influenced by and stem from the tremendous transformations that have taken place in China over the past three decades. Yet, it also resonates on a larger and international level, addressing topics of a globalized society and workforce. Her artistic language straddles between reality and fantasy. It translates elements from popular and gaming cultures, such as cinema, animation, cosplay, music (Cantopop and hip-hop) and social media, resulting in a humorous and engaging oeuvre that reflects on our ever-shifting contemporary condition.

Her recent selected exhibitions include 'Cao Fei', K21, Dusseldorf and the 9th Asia Pacific Triennial (2018-2019) ; 'A Hollow in a World Too Full' at Tai Kwun Contemporary, Hong Kong (2018) ; 'One Hand Clapping' at the Guggenheim Museum, New York (2018) ; 'Canton Express' at M+, Hong Kong (2017) ; 'Cao Fei' at MoMA PS1, New York and the 9thBerlin Biennale (2016) ; the 56th Venice Biennale and 'M+ Sigg Collection: Chinese Art from 1970 to now at The Whitworth Art Gallery', Manchester (2015) ; and 'Is Utopia for Sale?' at the Maxxi Museum, Rome (2014).

Cao Fei was a finalist of the prestigious Hugo Boss Art Prize (in association with the Guggenheim Foundation) in 2010, and she was named Best Artist at the 10th Chinese Contemporary Art Award in 2016. She also represented China at the 52nd Venice Biennale in 2007. Her works are featured in some of the world’s major permanent public collections, such as the Centre Pompidou, the Tate, the Guggenheim Museum, the MoMA, M+ Hong Kong and MMK Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt/Main.

Her newest solo exhibition, Cao Fei : HX, opened at Centre Georges Pompidou on June 5th, 2019. It is the first ever solo show of a Chinese artist at Centre Pompidou. Doors had the opportunity to catch up with Cao Fei on this occasion.

“Cao Fei: HX” comprises an entirely new body of works. This includes a feature length film, NOVA, a collection of videos, photographs and archive materials as well as installations that are largely developed from found objects related to the artist’s research. The title 'HX' derives from the neighborhood of Cao Fei’s studio in Beijing. The studio is a disused community cinema near to the now well-known 798 art district, and is located in an area with a largely industrial recent past. Many of the buildings and facilities there were developed and erected in the 1950s with technical aid from the former Soviet Union. Most of them were specifically designed to produce electronics, which led to the invention of the first Chinese-made computer. In the time since, the neighborhood has changed significantly, with many factories ceasing to operate and areas of the community designated for regeneration. Nearly four years in the making, 'HX' is the outcome of the artist and her team’s painstaking research of the area, in the process unveiling the rich and complex layers of a fast disappearing neighborhood. Furthermore, in embracing and employing its histories as a starting point, she has also (re)narrated and (re)imagined the past, the present and the future of a changing community and its inhabitants in a rapidly modernized country.

 

Your solo exhibition, “Cao Fei: HX” includes a fully diverse body of material and works (film, photographs, installations...) and seems very personal: the name, HX is a reference to the neighborhood where your studio is located in Beijing, near the 798 Art District – a location with a recent industrial past. Centre Georges Pompidou describes the exhibition as “the international debut of (your) long term research project 'Hong Xia'”. Could you tell us a bit about this project and the way you have worked, together with your team, to make it come to life? 

HX is a signifier, just like 798, 751 or 719 [the original numbers of the factory buildings that now form Beijing’s art district]. It refers to factories that disguised the nature of production to everyone. Outsiders would have no idea what was produced within. Over the course of four years, I had discussions and debates with scholars and experts in architecture, urban planning, film history, and technology. Thanks to their various perspectives on the history of China’s electronics industry, we could fully explore the project’s connections and contemporary relevance.

Cao Fei, « Interior of Hongxia Cinema», 2018, courtesy of Cao Fei and Vitamin Creative Space

Cao Fei, « Interior of Hongxia Cinema», 2018, courtesy of Cao Fei and Vitamin Creative Space

I live and work in a part of Beijing where China’s electronic industry came into being. After China’s reform and opening campaign, factories 798 and 751 were turned into an art district. Others became electronic cities, or even famous internet technology companies, such as 360, 58 Tongcheng and Ctrip. The HX project makes up for artistic omissions regarding the history of this industry, permitting us to re-imagine the past and consider the future of science and technology through an art film called Nova.

poster nova film by cao fei.jpg

Cao Fei, Nova trailer, 2019

This exhibition is the first ever solo exhibition of a Chinese artist at Centre Pompidou. How do you feel about that? Having already exhibited your work in solo exhibitions all over the world (China, Japan, New Zealand, England, United States...), including Paris, in 2008 at Le Plateau and already at Centre Pompidou, in 2003, taking part in a group exhibition, does showing solo in Centre Pompidou leave any particular impression on you? Is there anything in particular you are hoping to gain from the French public?

The curator at Centre Pompidou told me “Now you’re an international artist”. For me, this means that when I took part in the first Chinese exhibition at Centre Pompidou in 2003, I was still seen as a “Chinese artist”. A reporter asked me: “How do you feel about the work you show Westerners being seen as Chinese art?” In a way, even if some people see me as international today, others might still see me as a Chinese artist with a Western perspective. I don't think I have constructed and exported a Western-imagined China, but I’m not opposed to such a cultural misunderstanding — I grew up at the height of China's developing globalization, and came into contact with cultures from various countries. This alerted me to contemporary China’s multi-faceted nature.

In your work, you have your hands on a large range of materials including video, installation, performance and digital media. In that way, you seem to be blurring the boundaries that are usually drawn between different types of art, and creating a connection and discussion between genres. Were you always interested in working with such diverse equipment? 

I believe different kinds of feelings have to find their own media. I like to embody the richness of a topic and express it in a range of ways. I try to combine different possibilities under one conceptual umbrella, using various objects and their corresponding medias. As you never know what kind of chemical reactions these various objects will produce, it’s exciting. However, I care more about feelings than I do about means of expression. The media always comes second. Feelings come first. It is feelings that give birth to projects. Projects express feelings, whether they concern people, things, time, or history.

The common ground in most of your work is the interest in the changing, mobile urban and social landscape in today's China, and the way this influences the life of China's youth, along with the evolution of digital networks and virtual environments. How do you get inspired ? What do you think of the rise and the generalization of these virtual tools ? 

I think China's youth are just one of the concerns in my varied creative career. Up until now, I still see that many still refer to me as a “young artist” rather than an artist. Of course, I enjoy being called young, but I don't like being reduced to this title, because I can't keep on representing all young people and their culture.

I am sensible, rational, without plan, and, at the same time, capable of making a plan. People can be relaxed and nervous at the same time. I have always said that my inspiration can come from anywhere, from all kind of possibilities, but I can probably summarize it in a few key words which are inseparable from it: phenomenological, changing, group, big picture, emotional…

Virtual tools, innovative media, are not to be messed with. These tools have the power to change how we express ourselves, not only on an artistic level, but also in the way we perceive and access information, and in the way we evaluate participation in the world.

Cao Fei works with KUN, the latest to join Prada's campaigns line-up, and the Prada Fall/Winter 2019 collection to create "Code Human."

© UCS LLC Frankenstein is a Monster's Universal property © Universal City Studios LLC. All Rights Reserved

Your work has been shown in China and all over the world. Are there any differences that struck you between the Chinese audience's reception and the Western audience's reception of your art?

Generally, Western audiences are highly educated. They are more willing to consider the intrinsic nature of art. Whichever industry they come from or work for, they can see that art pertains to thought and spirit. They are willing to understand the world and its different cultures through art. In China, there has been a long-term lack of attention and education in art, especially contemporary art. Therefore, when Chinese audiences hear the word “art”, they may not get it. In the same way, younger generations want to learn more, because they have obtained a certain perception of contemporary culture and art online, or returned from studying abroad. For the sake of art, I do hope this trend will continue.

Cao Fei, “HX” at Centre Pompidou (Paris), 6 June-26 August 2019, Gallery 4 Level 1 More info

Learn more about Cao Fei and her work on her website or by following her on Instagram