艾米莉亚·菲利普,巴黎国立毕加索博物馆藏品负责人:“通过毕加索的作品,我们可以同时追随一个人的生存轨迹,以及现代艺术的诞生。”

艾米莉亚

艾米莉亚

《毕加索——一位天才的诞生》是中国有史以来最为重要的毕加索展览,于2019年6月15日到9月1日期间,在北京UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心展出。这次总共有103件来自巴黎国立毕加索博物馆的藏品运到北京,包括绘画,雕塑和纸上作品,为这次特别在中国策划和组织的展览,提供了一个毕加索前三十年职业生涯的整体概览。

UCCA+in+Beijing’s+798+Art+District+©+Succession+Picasso+2019.jpeg

策展人由同时为巴黎毕加索博物馆藏品负责人和毕加索研究专家的艾米莉亚·菲利普担任。 

《毕加索——一位天才的诞生》由六个章节组成:“早期毕加索”展示了学徒期的艺术家,在此期间他创作的作品如《戴帽子的男人》(1895)和《古典雕塑石膏像写生习作》(1893-1894);在“蓝色和粉色毕加索”阶段,艺术家越过临摹后印象派大师的风格,完全地去发展一个独创风格,可以见证这时期的作品诸如《疯子》(1905)和《兄弟俩》(1906);“驱魔人毕加索”显示了艺术家为形式和空间做的革新探索,创作的作品如《自画像》(1906)和孕育杰作《阿维尼翁的少女》(纽约现代艺术博物馆,1907);“立体主义者毕加索”时期,艺术家造就了一个标志的制作系统,作品如《弹曼陀林的男子》(1911)和《壁炉旁的男人》(1916);“多变毕加索”强调了一个向古典文艺复兴的转折点,诞生了《恋人》(1919)和《习作》(1920),以及在演出和舞蹈领域的涉足,比如为俄罗斯芭蕾舞团设计的布景,服装和舞台幕布;展览的最后一部分,囊括了艺术家在1927年到1972年间创作的一系列杰出绘画和雕塑作品,展示了在本次展览所考虑的时期内,毕加索创新的艺术语言表达形式,影响了他直到生命结束的实践经历。

门艺作为这次与UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心和巴黎毕加索美术馆的联合主办方,有幸在展览,个人职业生涯以及毕加索作品方面对艾米莉亚进行了采访。 

 

您是如何对《毕加索——一位天才的诞生》展览概念进行思考的?怎样从巴黎毕加索博物馆中的藏品里进行作品的筛选?

这个名为《毕加索——一位天才的诞生》的展览主要关注了艺术家从1895年左右的教育时期,一直到20年代初期毕加索“古典主义”的黄金时代。展览跨越“蓝色和粉色”时期,但也展示了原始主义时期和立体主义不同阶段的诸多杰作。在选择作品的时候,我们特意考虑到了不同因素:首先是它们的保存状态,它们的典型特点可以帮助理解,艺术家通过在某一时期设计出的不同的造型语言表达形式的发展过程,以及多方面的特征。主要思想是为了展现毕加索从一开始就是一位全方面的,对各种媒介都进行实验的艺术家。展览以1927年至1972年的一系列后期作品结束,这些作品反映了他在创作中很早就已实施的主题和始创原则的永久性。

Picasso

展览重点聚焦于毕加索前30年的艺术生涯。这个角度的观点有哪些有意思并且重点强调的地方?

研究一位艺术家的早期生涯一直都很有意思,特别是为了更好地理解一个作品的始创原则是如何建立的。毕加索的特殊情况是引人注目的早期伟大作品,他不仅非常年轻时就表现出令人难以置信的技艺,并且还有他打破惯例,建立个人艺术身份的速度。这个丰富而又多元的个人艺术身份,不但沉浸于他从学院教育中得到的教学内容,而且重要的是,他对前辈和上一代同辈人作品的渴求与好奇心。毕加索后来说他不是在寻找他找到的东西。实际上,我们观察到,他处于一个通过不断实验和挖掘好几个平行沟壑的连续运动中,所以这些沟壑的凝聚力并不总是立即引人注意。他作品的统一正是存在于这种自由的方法和创作的天赋中。

您可以跟我们谈论一点您的职业生涯吗?您是何时对毕加索感兴趣的?为什么?

我在卢浮宫学院学习的艺术史专业,主要针对19世纪和20世纪的艺术,我参加了毕加索作品中马戏表现的课程。甚至在我通过馆藏负责人的会考之前,我已经对这位艺术家非常熟悉,我通过复制品、书籍或明信片看过很多作品。我特别记得一张杰圭琳的肖像明信片,她同时也被称为Z女士,她的轮廓几乎是由一组彩色刻面雕刻而成,散发出一种令人印象深刻的不朽性。同时,通过一些像眼睛这样的细节处理,她拥有一种大气的优雅迫使你去尊重:她既有古代的坚固与持久,也有显著的现代性和诱惑力。

 当我在研究小丑的粉色时期时,我想大多是因为毕加索对马戏团人们深切的同情令我感动,但更广泛地说,同时也是对边缘人群、流浪者、活在社会边缘的艺术家的同情。我也被他创作所特有的优雅与悲伤的混合体牢牢抓住。当我意识到所有这些作品都是出自同一个艺术家之手时,我被一种眩晕所笼罩。

《小提琴与乐谱》, 巴黎,1912 年秋, 纸板纸质拼贴画, 78x63.5cm, 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆, © Succession Picasso 2019

《小提琴与乐谱》, 巴黎,1912 年秋, 纸板纸质拼贴画, 78x63.5cm, 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆, © Succession Picasso 2019

毕加索让我着迷的显然是他的才华,以及他与立体主义发起的对表现艺术的深刻质疑。我对他的种种能力感到震惊,尤其是他那令人难以置信的革新力量,他现代化的能力,与他的世界保持同步,理解并能用艺术和人文的方式来体现。从1900年的巴塞罗那到50年代戛纳电影节的海滨大道,从咆哮的20年代的巴黎到60年代末的性解放,中间经历了30年代的黑暗时期,毕加索从未停止重塑他的艺术语言表达形式,以回应他的环境,无论是隐秘的,历史性的,还是社会的,文化上的…通过他的作品,我们可以同时追随一个人在这个世纪中的轨迹,以及现代艺术的诞生。


《毕加索——一位天才的诞生》阐述了六个不同的篇章,先后强调了毕加索的学徒时期,“蓝色和粉色”时期,形式和空间的革新实验时期,立体主义时期,以及古典文艺复兴转折的呈现和涉足演出和舞蹈领域。您可以描述一下这条路线的选择吗?我们会在毕加索艺术发展中看到一个线性还是更为循环的演变过程?

展览的路径从一开始就是按着时间顺序的几个篇章来构思的,以便了解毕加索形式的起源,和衡量他前30年的创作之路,这之间包括他的学院教育,他的第一个艺术身份,之后的立体主义革新以及第一次世界大战结束后的古典主义复兴。这种研究角度可以让观众感到更加清晰,而他们大部分从未见过毕加索的作品。

 这个研究角度同时又与大规模的背景相呼应,每个展览“盒子”外面,都有一副艺术家的画像,包括在创作作品的艺术家照片。一方面是观众可以感受到艺术家的青春朝气,另一方面使这个年轻人的外形蜕变更加形象化,其姿势证明了他越来越自信和征服的态度。另一方面,工作室或创作场所的景观的内部背景,是这些创作灵感产生的地方,因此这样的情景化可以将这段历史固定在更广泛的艺术史中,从西班牙到法国,途经英国。

与此同时,该项目从一开始就被认为是在各个时期之间建立桥梁,来消除这个分类的阻隔,分类必然相关,但往往过于标准和专一。该项目的挑战还在于展示这些作品是如何相互交流的,以及从毕加索创作初期开始,艺术家是如何在他的整个职业生涯中,设立他不会去停止重新审视和改造的一些原则,疑问和实践。这就是我们与展览空间设计师一起研究的原因,设置开放的空间和景深的空间,以提高观众对一系列主题的认识,如自画像或绘画/雕塑的关系(雕塑画和/或图案雕塑)或主要方向(观点的增多,主题的间隔)。这也是这个展览路线的中心位置的存在理由,但它在整个展览中以零碎的形式出现,并能够打开超出规定的时间顺序,通过象征性的杰作,如多种毕加索目录里来自厄比纳尔的图像,对今后的作品予以概况。

 

对您来说,哪些是这次展览的主要作品?

在北京展出的作品是经过特别筛选的,包括很多主要作品,如1901年的《自画像》和《塞莱斯廷那》都是“蓝色时期”的代表作;《兄弟俩》和《女人的半身雕像》来自戈索尔时期;但也有一系列出色的作品,如1907-1908年为《阿维尼翁的少女》准备的习作画稿,以及《树下三人》;还有一些立体主义的重要布面画,如《弹曼陀林的男子》,或者《壁炉旁的男人》,还有壮观的纸张拼贴作品《小提琴和乐谱》,与切割的金属片小提琴雕像相呼应。在展览的最后部分,《乡村舞蹈》或《恋人》是20年代初最重要的成就之一,而1932年的《阅读》,《亲吻》或1972年的《年轻画家》则是巴黎毕加索博物馆最著名藏品中的其中一部分。

《吻》, 穆然,1969 年 10 月 26 日, 布面油画, 97x130cm, 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆, © Succession Picasso 2019

《吻》, 穆然,1969 年 10 月 26 日, 布面油画, 97x130cm, 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆, © Succession Picasso 2019

 

您对把这个展览带到北京感觉如何?

这个展览此次能在中国展出,我感到非常自豪和幸福,这边之前很少有毕加索主题的展览,他的作品已有超过35年没有在北京展出。同样,我觉得我正在履行馆藏负责人的主要任务之一,即研究,保存和丰富他所负责的藏品,以及更广泛地传播。毕加索作品的国际影响力是机构重新开放以来,在文化政策上的重要方面之一。能在这个大国展示毕加索,对于博物馆和中国观众来说,都是一种荣誉和运气。

 

据您所知,毕加索与中国之间是否存在关联?

巴黎毕加索博物馆拥有艺术家的私人收藏,该收藏由继承人于1992年捐赠,约20万件。虽然迄今为止没有逐件清查,但展览期间进行的研究尚未确定中国与毕加索之间是否存在具体联系。他不是一个伟大的旅行者,一生中相对较少出行,例如他都从未踏上过美国领土!他在1917年去往意大利的旅行令人关注,特别是在他的家乡西班牙停留过几次,直到1936年,他基本上都居住在法国,在第二次世界大战后定居南部。此外,1956年7月,他在戛纳的“加利福尼亚”别墅接待了中国伟大的画家张大千,并在几个星期之前于巴黎进行了对话,当时这位艺术家是巴黎现代艺术博物馆展览的对象。几年后,我们可以看到他后期的作品中出现了一系列水墨画,这也许是受到了这次见面的启发。

张大千和毕加索(1956年7月)

张大千和毕加索(1956年7月)

 

这是首次巴黎毕加索博物馆在中国展出如此密集的藏品。这是否预示了博物馆的未来方向?

这确实是该博物馆首次在中国展出这样一套庞大的藏品。自2014年重新开放以来,博物馆已在巴黎,法国和其他国家开展了一项重要的传播政策。在巴黎与大型公家机构合作,如曾在布朗利河岸博物馆展出的《原始毕加索》,或曾在奥赛博物馆展出的《毕加索:蓝色与粉色时期》,以及目前正在继续与巴黎军事博物馆合作展出的《毕加索与战争》;在其他地区以及之后在欧洲,特别是“地中海毕加索”活动,涉及到了20多个国家的60多家机构。最后,在国际上,于2016年在拉丁美洲的巴西,阿根廷和智利举行了一系列展览。巴黎毕加索博物馆打算奉行其国际影响力政策,并通过与亚洲,特别是中国,建立联系,开辟新的篇章。

 

《毕加索——一位天才的诞生》在北京UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心展出,2019年6月15日-9月1日。更多信息请点击此处。

Emilia Philippot, Head of Collections at Musée Picasso-Paris: “Observing Picasso’s work allows us to follow the path of a man of his century, and to witness the birth of modern art”

Emilia Philippot

Emilia Philippot

“Picasso – Birth of a Genius” represents the most significant exhibition of work by Pablo Picasso ever to take place in China and is presented at UCCA Center for Contemporary Art between 15 June and 1 September, 2019. 103 works in total, taken from the collection of the Musée national Picasso-Paris, with paintings, sculptures, and works on paper have traveled all the way to Beijing and offer a comprehensive overview of the first three decades of Picasso’s career in an exhibition conceived and organized specifically for this presentation in UCCA and in China.

UCCA in Beijing’s 798 Art District © Succession Picasso 2019

UCCA in Beijing’s 798 Art District © Succession Picasso 2019

The exhibition is curated by Emilia Philippot, a Picasso specialist and the Head of Collections at the Musée national Picasso-Paris.

“Picasso – Birth of a Genius” is organized in six chapters: “The First Picasso,” which accounts for the artist’s artistic upbringing, when he produced works such as Man in a Cap (1895) and Study of a Torso, After a Plaster Cast (1893-1894); “Picasso Blue and Rose,” during which he advanced from imitating Post-Impressionist masters to develop a truly original style, resulting in works like The Jester (1905) and Two Brothers(1906); “Picasso the Exorcist,” which saw his revolutionary experiments with form and space, producing artworks like Self-portrait (1906) and preparing his masterpiece, Les Demoiselles d’Avignon (Museum of Modern Art, New York, 1907); “Picasso the Cubist,” a period when he wrought an elaborate system of signs, producing works such as Man with a Mandolin (1911) and Man with Fireplace (1916); “Picasso the Chameleon,” which marked the artist’s turn towards classical revivalism, creating works such as The Lovers (1919) and Studies (1920), as well as designing the sets, costumes, and curtain for the Ballets Russes production of Le Tricorne (1919); and a final section which includes several notable paintings and sculptures done between 1927 and 1972, giving a sense of how Picasso’s creative idiom, developed during the period under consideration in the exhibition, informed his later practice.

Doors, which co-organized the exhibition with UCCA and Musée national Picasso-Paris, had the opportunity to ask Emilia a few questions about the exhibition and about Picasso.

 

How did you work on the concept behind the exhibition “Picasso - Birth of a Genius” ? How did you make your selection among the thousands of works conserved in the Musée National Picasso-Paris ?

“Picasso - Birth of a Genius” focuses on the artist’s period in training from 1895 to the classical golden era of the 1920s. The exhibition shows Picasso’s development throughout the Blue and Rose periods, but also displays his primitivist period and the various phases of cubism by way of major works. The art has been chosen with the utmost of care, taking several factors into consideration: their state of preservation, how they can help explain the artist’s evolution by being representative enough of the various artistic languages elaborated on at the time, and their multidisciplinary nature. The idea is to show that Picasso, since the very beginning, was a complete artist, experimenting in all media. The exhibition ends with a number of late works, made between 1927 and 1972, which show the permanence of certain topics and founding principles that were set very early in his creative process.

picasso.jpg

This exhibition concentrates on the first 30 years of Picasso’s artistic life. In what way is this approach interesting? What does it convey, and what parts of his artistic life does it serve to highlight?

I believe it is always interesting to study the early works of an artist, to better understand how founding principles fall into place. In Picasso’s case specifically, what strikes me in particular is his great precocity, the incredible skills he shows even in his youngest period, but also how fast he liberates himself from conventions and how fast he builds his own artistic identity. His artistic identity is rich and pluralistic, strenghtened simultaneously by what he thought during his academic training, but also and more importantly by his curiosity and appetite for his predecessors’ works. Indeed, it is noticeable that he progresses in a continuous motion that is carried out in successive experiments. These experiments explore parallel paths which all come together even though the cohesion is not alway immediately discernable. The freedom of approach and the genius in invention are exactly where the unity of his work resides.

Let’s talk a little about your background. When and why did you start developing an interest for Picasso?

I studied History of Art at the Ecole du Louvre, specializing in 19th and 20th Century art. I took a course on circus representation in Picasso’s work. Even before taking my curatorial examination, I was very familiar of this artist. Since childhood, I had seen a lot of his art in reproductions, books, and on postcards. I specifically remember one postcard of Jacqueline’s portrait, known as Madame Z, whose profile seemed sculpted in a combination of colored facets. This painting gave me a feeling of monumentality, and, at the same time, because of the particular attention to details, such as the eyes, a feeling of a great elegance that commanded respect. It had the solidity and permanence of something antique, and at the same time, was eminently modern and attractive.

While studying the Rose period, I was moved, like a lot of people I believe, by Picasso’s deep empathy for circus people, and more precisely misfits, wanderers, and artists who lived on the margins of society. I was seized by the blend of grace and sadness that emanated from his works. And when I realized all these paintings had been made by the same artist, I felt dizzy in awe.

Violin and Music Sheets.  Paris, autumn 1912. Papers cut and glued on cardboard. 78 x 63.5 cm. Musée national Picasso-Paris © Succession Picasso 2019

Violin and Music Sheets. Paris, autumn 1912. Papers cut and glued on cardboard. 78 x 63.5 cm. Musée national Picasso-Paris © Succession Picasso 2019

What fascinates me in Picasso’s work is his talent, and the way he deeply questions the process of art representation – beginning with cubism. Most importantly, I am astounded by his incredible capacity for renewal, his ability to be modern, to be in sync with his world, understand it and embody it in an artistic and humanistic way. From 1900s Barcelona to the Cannes promenade de la Croisette in 1950, from the Roaring Twenties in Paris to the sexual liberation of the 1960s, and throughout the dark years of the 1930s, Picasso keeps on reinventing his artistic language in response to his environment, whether it was intimate, historical, social, or cultural. Observing his work allows us to follow the path of a man of his century, and to witness the birth of modern art.

“Picasso. Birth of a Genius” has six parts, drawing successively on Picasso's early years, the Blue and Rose periods, a phase of revolutionnary experiments of forms and space, followed by a cubist period, before presenting the turning point that lead the artist to a classical rebirth, as well as his incursion in the worlds of theater and dance. Could you develop on this choice of exhibition trail? Should the audience see, in Picasso’s artistic development, an linear evolution or a circular one?  

The exhibition path was from the outset thought of in chronological chapters, permitting an understanding of the genesis of shapes in Picasso’s works, as well as grasping the road travelled during his first thirty years of creation – between his academic training, his first artistic identity, the cubist revolution and the classical revival after World War I. This traditional approach responds to a desire for clarity from an audience that would have, for the most part, never seen a Picasso painting before.

It also serves to offer a contextual setting on a larger scale. Outside each box welcoming a new chapter, there is a portrait of the artist from the period in which the works were created. This allows the audience to be aware of the extreme youth of the artist, and, at the same time, to visualize the physical metamorphosis of the young man, whose postures shows how he built and gained confidence in his winning spirit. Other forms of contextualization allow us to anchor this history of art in context, from Spain to France and England, thanks to images of studios or important places that were sources of inspiration represented inside scenographical spaces.

At the same time, this project was also thought, since the beginning, to establish bridges between the periods and to outgrow a relevant but often normative and exclusive categorization. What was at stake in this project was also to show how the works interacted with each other, and how, in his early years, Picasso set out a number of principles, questions, and practices that he never stopped revisiting and reinventing throughout his career. This is why I worked with the scenographer to create openings and perspectives in order to make the audience aware of the stability of certain thematics, such as self-portrait, the relationship between painting and sculpture (sculptural paintings and/or pictoral sculptures) or methodological aspects (multiplication of points of view, distance from the subject). This is also why the central place that marks the exhibition also appears, bit by bit, throughout the whole exhibition and give a glimpse of Picasso’s ulterior work in emblematic masterpieces – the postcards of Picasso’s repertoire.

Which do you think are the key works of the exhibition ?  

The selection of works brought to Beijing is exceptional and counts a significant number of major works, such as the 1901 Self-Portrait and the Celestine, icons of the Blue Period ; The Two Brothers and a Bust of a Woman from the Gosol period ; and also a remarkable set of pieces from 1907-1908, all preparatory studies for the Young Ladies of Avignon and Three Figures Under a Tree ; as well as some essential cubist works such as Man with Mandolin and Man with Fireplace and the monumental papier collé Violin and Sheet Music, which dialogues with the sculpture in sheet metal entitled Violin. In the last part of the exhibition, The Village Dance and The Lovers probably represent the most significant works from the early 1920s while Reading from 1932 and The Kiss from 1969, along with The Young Painter from 1972 are amongst the most famous paintings from the Musée National Picasso-Paris.

The Kiss , Mougins, October 26, 1969, Oil on canvas, 97x130cm. Musée national Picasso-Paris. © Succession Picasso 2019

The Kiss, Mougins, October 26, 1969, Oil on canvas, 97x130cm. Musée national Picasso-Paris. © Succession Picasso 2019

How do you feel about bringing this exhibition to Beijing ? Does showing these works in China imply or represent something in particular for you ?

I am incredibly proud and pleased to present this exhibition in China, where Picasso’s work has been rarely exhibited, in Beijing not for more than 35 years. I therefore have the feeling that I am fulfilling one of the most important missions of my job as a curator, which is studying, preserving, and enriching the collection I am in charge of, but also promoting it on a larger scale. Picasso’s international prestige is an essential component of our museum’s policy since its reopening. To be able to present Picasso in this big country is an honor and an opportunity for the museum and for our Chinese audience.

To your knowledge, what links have existed between Picasso and China ? 

The Musée National Picasso-Paris has been in possession of the artist’s private archives since a donation from the Succession in 1992, and counts around 200,000 works in its collection. To this date there is no inventory record, but research conducted for the exhibition has not identified any specific links between Picasso and China. The artist was not a great traveller, barely moving much in his life – he had never been to the United States, for example! He did take a significant trip to Italy in 1917 and frequently travelled to his homeland, Spain, up until 1936, but he has essentially lived in France, settling in the south of France after World War II. Incidentally, it’s in La Californie, his villa in Cannes, that he received the great Chinese painter Zhang Daqian in July 1956. On this occasion, they were able to continue a discussion initiated a few weeks earlier in Paris when the artist was holding an exhibition in the Modern Art Museum of Paris. We may notice in his later works a set of ink wash paintings that could have been inspired by this encounter.

Zhang Daqian and Picasso (July 1956)

Zhang Daqian and Picasso (July 1956)

This is the first time the Musée National Picasso-Paris presents such a large proportion of its collection in China. Does this mean anything for the future of the Musée?

It is indeed the first time that the museum presents this much of its collection in China. Since its reopening in 2014, the museum has initiated an important policy of promotion of its collection, in Paris, in France, and abroad. In Paris, we collaborated with the biggest public establishments such as the Quai Branly museum where we held a Primitivist Picasso exhibition, or at Musée d'Orsay for Picasso - Blue and Rose. We continue to run these types of partnerships right now with a Picasso and War exhibition at the Army Museum. Our Mediterranean Picasso exhibition programme toured more than 60 institutions in about 20 countries. Internationally, a significant number of works were presented in Latin America in 2016: in Brazil, Argentina, and Chile. The museum intends to continue to focus on international expansion, and is eager to open a new chapter by developing a relationship with Asia, and specifically with China.

“Picasso — Birth of a Genius” exhibition at UCCA (Beijing) June 15th — September 1st, 2019
More info

Keep up with Musée national Picasso-Paris on their website or by following their Instagram

Read our interview with Philip Tinari, director of UCCA