包一峰-JingArt及Art021联合创始人:“艺术市场恰好反映了经济状况”

首届JingArt(艺览北京博览会)举办于2018年5月17日-20日,地点选在了前门老街区的历史建筑劝业场内,这一新近打造的艺术博览会在本季度的京城引起热议。一起创办了Art021(上海廿一当代艺术博览会)的三位创始人(包一峰与应青蓝、周大为)北上京城,向北京的藏家、画廊及艺术爱好者展示了他们的经验与专业品质。门艺在博览会闭幕之际采访了包一峰,人称“时尚公关一哥”的他近年来更多地以青年收藏家和艺博会举办方的身份活跃于当代艺术领域,我们与他一起探讨了全新打造的JingArt将如何改变北京的艺术博览会格局,以及他多年来对于中国当代艺术领域的观察和思考。

创始人合影(左起 包一峰先生 应青蓝女士 周大为先生)

创始人合影(左起 包一峰先生 应青蓝女士 周大为先生)

为什么在Art021(上海廿一当代艺术博览会)之后又创办了JingArt艺览北京呢?

连续5年举办Art021(上海廿一当代艺术博览会)之后,我们面临着两种选择:一种选择是将Art021的规模继续扩大,另一种则是打造完全不同的新项目。去年是我们的五周年,上海展览中心几乎所有场地都被我们用来举办博览会,而收入则几乎和往届持平。我们当然也可以找到规模比较大的赞助来实现利润的增长,但是这并不是最稳妥的方案。因此我们有想过将Art021搬去另一个城市,或是打造一个新项目。在对深圳、成都、杭州和其他一些二线城市进行调研后,我们还是选择了北京。这里不仅有活跃的藏家群体和画廊,也有我们需要的完备的基础设施。对我们来说,画廊和藏家是最主要的考虑因素。尽管最终选择的地点有一些争议性,三位创始人也讨论良久,但最终我们还是将项目落地在了北京。

为什么选择了JingArt(艺览北京)这个新名字呢?

我们咨询了很多品牌和公关方面的专家,尽管我自己从事公关行业多年,但也希望能听取一些他人的建议。我们的新项目可以沿用已经打造完备的Art021品牌,或者重新构想一个新品牌。最终我们得出结论,Art021是更倾向于当代艺术的博览会,而北京的新项目则定位更加多元。它可以囊括传统画廊,可以是设计、首饰、钱币,甚至是瓷器及古董方面的。定位上的区别要求我们必须打造一个新品牌。

JingArt(艺览北京)这一品牌名的灵感来源于不同城市的车牌号,每个省份都有以简称开头的车牌号码系统:北京简称是京,上海是沪,重庆是渝,广州是粤……原本Art021的品牌来源于上海的区号,而新品牌可以按照X-Art的命名形式在城市之间迁移。

第一届JingArt反响如何?

我们很高兴。由于这是第一次在北京举办博览会,我们希望能了解整个运作流程。北京的文化环境、审查级别、工作方式和清关政策等都和我们过往的经验不太一样。我们的场地也非常靠近天安门广场,这给我们的布展、后勤带来了一些挑战。这也是为什么我们第一届的规模控制得比较小,主要是为了熟悉在北京举办展会的工作方式。有了这样的经验,下一年的JingArt我们就有机会展示更多的潜力。

位于前门大街附近的历史建筑劝业场,首届JingArt在这里举办

位于前门大街附近的历史建筑劝业场,首届JingArt在这里举办

画廊和藏家的反馈如何?

画廊和藏家都很满意。我们还收到来自北京居民的一些反馈,他们很惊喜能在北京的老街区发现这么美的建筑,有些人并不知道这栋建筑物的存在,其中有一些甚至20年都没来过这个老街区。来到这里的观众习惯将我们和Art Beijing以及CIGE对比,所以我们希望能带给他们惊喜,我想我们是做到了!

藏家们觉得博览会的布局非常合理,规模也适于参观浏览,三层的中庭都是镂空的空间,因此藏家可以流连于回廊,或是自如上下参观其他空间。

鉴于这是我们的第一次尝试,我们不想强调最后的销售额,但我们了解到画廊还是有不错的销售成绩。本次受邀参与的32家画廊都有很好的客户群体,在展会开始前,他们已经发出了自己的图册供藏家选择,因此很多藏家在来到博览会实地欣赏作品之前就已经达成了购买意向。

国外画廊的比例是多少呢?其中有一些是第一次参与北京的博览会,他们参与的主要意图是什么呢?

国外画廊占到了30%。他们已经在Art021中和我们有过合作。我们第一时间向他们介绍了新项目并展示了我们的实力,他们也很快确定申请。因为是第一届,我们很希望能和熟悉的画廊一起打造新品牌。北京的市场潜力巨大,客户群体也很可观。画廊也带来了自己的客户,对于参与博览会的其他画廊来说,当这些客户在博览会参观时,也都是他们潜在的新客户。我们也从其他渠道带来了新的客户资源,为博览会注入更多的活力和新鲜血液。很多画廊也是看中了这一点来和我们合作。

有了这些经验以后,未来对于JingArt的构想是怎样的?

第一届的JingArt,我们向Art021合作过的画廊和与我们关系紧密的画廊发出了邀请,大部分都接受邀请参与了本次博览会。下一年,我们准备开放申请,许多当代艺术画廊已经很了解我们,但其他类型的画廊还不太熟悉我们的团队。不仅是珠宝和瓷器相关的画廊,即使是Gallery All也才刚刚开始了解我们。这些新建立联系的画廊取得了一些销售业绩,更重要的是,他们接触到了新的工作方式和全新的市场。在此之前,Gallery All主要参与设计类的博览会,比如说迈阿密设计博览会。我们的团队成员主动联系了本次参与的瓷器画廊,这家画廊的主理人给我们提了很多宝贵建议。他建议我们选择一些传统艺术商和一些设计类画廊,使他们与当代艺术之间碰撞出不一样的火花。这也正是我们希望在未来的博览会中实现的方向。我们可能会选择两到三家首饰类画廊,同时希望更多地吸引手工艺品类的画廊,比如说瓷器。

从您最早接触中国当代艺术到现在,观察到的最主要的变化是什么?

许多画廊经历了巨大的变化,最近才逐渐稳定下来。过去的一些年,许多画廊开业又关张,比较成熟的画廊留在了市场里,艺术市场本身也变得日趋成熟。

另外,中国的藏家群体也逐渐成熟起来。过去,他们只收藏中国的当代艺术作品,现在他们也关注国际市场。随着UCCA这类机构的赞助人项目的发展,许多中国藏家也开始成为MOMA(纽约现代艺术博物馆)和古根海姆画廊的赞助人。同时,许多私人美术馆兴起,藏家们对于未来的发展方向有了更多的想法。现在,一些中国藏家想要开办自己的私人美术馆,还有一些希望成立自己的基金会,还有藏家想要尝试特别策划的项目或是与专业人士合作展出自己的收藏。艺术收藏不仅仅是藏家的投资或兴趣爱好,中国的藏家们更希望和公众分享自己的艺术收藏。

为什么中国的藏家在您看来更乐意分享自己的收藏呢?

如果以国际的视野看待世界各地的博览会,会发现很多都举办于藏家的家乡甚至他们自己的空间中。家对于中国人来说是更加私密的场合。藏家们更希望在别的地方展示自己的收藏。同时,竞争的心态使得藏家竞相举办大型的收藏展。

之前北京被誉为中国的艺术之都,但今天的上海可以说和北京旗鼓相当,同时在成都、深圳、杭州等城市也有重要的艺术盛事和艺术机构的涌现。您是如何看待中国中国艺术地缘生态的快速增长的?

艺术市场也反映了经济状况。艺术市场的扩展说明了这些城市的经济和艺术环境发展势头良好。这些城市也需要更好的博物馆、艺术机构和艺术家。之前,很多艺术家毕业于北京或杭州的高校,所以他们的工作室也主要选在了北京及上海周边。今天的互联网时代让居住地已经变得不再有限制,很多艺术家选择回到自己的家乡安顿下来,并专注于创作。另一方面,北京也变得更加昂贵,创作环境也变得愈发不友好,人们也开始倾向于不在北京常驻。

未来几年最值得期待的文化艺术活动有哪些?

我很期待看到中国美术馆(NAMOC)建成新馆,这是由建筑师让·努维尔设计的当代艺术博物馆。很高兴能看到国家博物馆也开始关注当代艺术。

在香港,M+博物馆也会在未来两年内开幕。我很喜欢他们之前在香港荷李活道上开业的大馆(Tai Kwun)。他们将一个老法院改造成了一处带有剧场的当代艺术博物馆。

同时,在北京也有很多其他国际博览会即将开幕,比如说今年下半年的将在北京举办的北京城市艺术博览会|酒店型|。

首届JingArt艺览北京参展画廊

千高原艺术空间 A THOUSAND PLATEAUS ART SPACE · GALLERY ALL · AYE 画廊 AYE GALLERY · BLAIN|SOUTHERN · 前波画廊 CHAMBERS FINE ART · 杜梦堂 GALERIE DUMONTEIL · 诚品画廊 ESLITE GALLERY · 美术文献艺术中心 FINE ARTS LITERATURE ART CENTER · 豪瑟沃斯画廊 HAUSER & WIRTH · HDM GALLERY · 蜂巢当代艺术中心 HIVE CENTER FOR CONTEMPORARY ART · ANNA HU 高订珠宝 ANNA HU HAUTE JOAILLERIE · 耿画廊 TINA KENG GALLERY · 大未来林舍画廊 LIN & LIN GALLERY · 玉兰堂 LINE GALLERY · 德玉堂画廊 MATTHEW LIU FINE ARTS · 长征空间 LONG MARCH SPACE  · 美博空间 MEBOSPACE · 55号院子艺术空间 NO.55 ART SPACE · 北京艺门画廊 PÉKIN FINE ARTS · 贝浩登 PERROTIN · 偏锋新艺术空间 PIFO GALLERY · QIU FINE JEWELRY · 香格纳画廊 SHANGHART GALLERY · 势象空间 SHIXIANG SPACE · 艸居 SOKYO GALLERY · 东京画廊 + BTAP TOKYO GALLERY + BTAP · 艺·凯旋画廊 TRIUMPH GALLERY · 白盒子收藏 WHITE BOX · 白石画廊 WHITESTONE GALLERY · 正观堂 ZHENG GUAN TANG ORIENTAL ART · 卓纳画廊 DAVID ZWIRNER

阅读包一峰的普鲁斯特问卷

Bao Yifeng, co-founder of JingArt and 021 art fairs: “The art market mirrors China's economic status.”

There has been a lot of buzz this season for the newly established art fair JingArt, whose first edition took place on May 17-20, 2018 in Quanyechang, in Beijing's historical district of Qianmen. The team behind Shanghai's famed Art021 contemporary art fair (Bao Yifeng, Ying Qinglan and Zhou Dawei), happening each Fall since 2013, went all the way to Beijing to bring their savoir-faire to the capital's collectors, galleries and art lovers. Doors caught up with Bao Yifeng, China's "fashion PR guru", the day after the end of the fair. In recent years, Bao has been very active in the art world, both as a collector and an art fair organizer. We discussed with him the evolution of the Chinese art market, China's shifting art map, and how JingArt is already changing Beijing's art scene.

The three founders of JingArt: Bao Yifeng, Ying Qinglan and Zhou Dawei

The three founders of JingArt: Bao Yifeng, Ying Qinglan and Zhou Dawei

Why did you want to set up an art fair in Beijing after Art021 in Shanghai?

We had been running the Art021 fair in Shanghai for five years, and had reached a bit of a crossroads. We needed to either scale up or create something different. Last year was our fifth anniversary, and most of Shanghai Exhibition Center was taken up with exhibitions. Our revenue had stayed pretty much the same, and we faced having to secure a major sponsor – a possible but unreliable option. This led us to consider taking Art021 to another city, or starting something entirely new. After researching some second-tier cities, including Shenzhen, Chengdu and Hangzhou, we picked Beijing. Not only does it have the most active community of collectors and galleries, but it also has the infrastructure we need. For us, galleries and collectors are the most important elements, but the venue is also quite critical. Our three co-founders debated the issue and reached consensus on Beijing.

空景图3.jpg

Why did you choose the new name JingArt?

Although I have plenty of experience with PR, I needed to hear more opinions. We then consulted various people about branding and PR. We could either keep our well-established Art021 brand, or pick something very different. We concluded that while Art021 was a contemporary art fair, our new Beijing program would be more diverse. It would include classic galleries, design, jewelry, coins, and even ceramics and antiques. These differences called for a new brand and a new name.

The name JingArt was inspired by car license plates. Each province has a single character on its license plate: Beijing has Jing, Shanghai has Hu, Chongqing has Yu, Guangzhou has Yue. The name Art021 was taken from Shanghai’s area code. With this new brand, we could move from city to city by way of license plates, each becoming X-Art.

How did JingArt’s first fair go? 

We were very happy. As this was our first fair in Beijing, we wanted to know how things operated there. Beijing has a unique cultural environment, level of censorship, ways to do things, and custom clearance policy. We had selected a venue close to Tiananmen Square, and this meant we encountered some special logistical issues in set up. This is why we wanted to start from something small, to become acquainted with running exhibitions in Beijing. We can bring this experience to a showcase of JingArt’s true potential next year.

What are some feedbacks you got from galleries and collectors?

The galleries and collectors were very happy as well. We also heard from Beijing residents who expressed their surprise on discovering such a beautiful building. They did not even know such a place existed, as many had not visited the area in over 20 years! Visitors put us in the same bracket as well-established Art Beijing and CIGE (China International Gallery Exhibition) [created in 2006 and 2004], so we wanted to give them a surprise, and we did!

The old building of Quanyecheng in the historical district of Qianmen (Beijing), where JingArt took place

The old building of Quanyecheng in the historical district of Qianmen (Beijing), where JingArt took place

The collectors thought our exhibition was very smoothly planned, and easy to navigate for its size. There were three spaces running through in the middle, so you could stay on the veranda or gaze up and down at the other spaces.

As this was our first attempt, we didn’t want to emphasize scale. We know however that some galleries did make good sales. Most of the 32 invited galleries have good client bases. They sent out their catalogue before the fair, so a lot of clients had already committed to buy before coming to look at the artworks to make their final decisions.

What was the proportion of foreign art galleries? For some like Blain Southern, Perrotin, David Zwirner or Hauser & Wirth, it must have been their first participation in a fair in Beijing. Why did they come?

Foreign art galleries made up 30%. They were already working with us at Art021. They signed up once we presented this new project and informed them of our strengths. As this was our first year, we really wanted them to go with us. The market is huge with a wider client base. Each gallery brought their clients, but to the other galleries, they were new clients walking through the fair. We also brought in other client base resources to make it more lively and fresh. A lot of expectation was riding on this.

After this year’s experience, what is your plan for next year and after?

For this year’s first event, we sent invitations to all the gallery owners who applied for Art021 or with whom we had good relationships. Curiosity meant that most of them showed up. From next year, we will be open to applications. The contemporary galleries may have known us quite well, but for others we were on less familiar terms. This goes for the jewelry and ceramic galleries, even for Gallery ALL. These galleries made some sales, but even more importantly they saw a new approach and a different market. Before, Gallery ALL participated mostly in fairs like the Miami design fair. Our team members approached the owner of the ceramic gallery, who gave us good suggestions. He suggests that we choose a few traditional art dealers with contemporary or even design galleries as this would spark something good. We want to do more of this in future fairs. For jewelry, we will choose two or three galleries, and we want more representatives of crafts such as ceramics.

Since your earliest involvement in contemporary art in China, what major changes have you seen?

A lot of galleries have drastically changed, only recently becoming more stable. In the past, many galleries opened and shut. Now mature ones emerge and stay in the market, that itself is becoming more stable.

Secondly, Chinese collectors have also matured. In the past they only collected Chinese contemporary art; now they scrutinize the global art market. And with the UCCA patron program, a lot of Chinese collectors have even become patrons of MOMA or the Guggenheim. Also, with the establishment of all these new private museums, collectors have richer vision of the future. Presently, some Chinese collectors seek to open their own museums, some plan to set up their own foundations, while others want to run special programs or work with someone to showcase their own collections. Art collection is not only about investment or the collector’s personal enjoyment; collectors are talking about sharing more with the public.

Why do you think there is such an interest in sharing in China compared with collectors outside the country?

When you examine art fairs from an international perspective, you would note that many happen in a collector’s hometown or village, or even their own spaces. However, Chinese homes are more private. People prefer to exhibit their collections elsewhere. At the same time, in China the concept of "face" is very important. Chinese collectors have competitive mindsets. When some collectors show off their large collections, others follow suit!

Previously it was said that Beijing was the art capital of China, but today Shanghai rivals Beijing. There are also major art events and institutions in Chengdu, Shenzhen, and Hangzhou. What is your take on this rapid evolution of the geography of China’s art world?

The art market mirrors China's economic status. Art spreads because the economy and environment are getting better in these cities. They need better museums, institutions and artists. Previously, most artists graduated from fine arts academies in Beijing or Hangzhou, so they founded their studios either in Beijing or around Shanghai. Nowadays, with the Internet, it does not really matter where you live. A lot of artists returned to their hometowns to settle and concentrate on creating art. Concurrently, Beijing is becoming more expensive and environmentally more hostile for artists, so people are less inclined to stay permanently.

Which art event excites you the most in the next few years?

We are happy to see the National Art Museum of China (NAMOC) is building its new museum designed by Jean Nouvel. It is exciting to see that the National Museum is now focusing on contemporary art.

In Hong Kong, M+ Museum will open in two years, hopefully. I really liked their last project in Hollywood Road, called Tai Kwun. They converted the old police headquarters into a contemporary museum space with a big theatre.  [Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron, who are working on the future M+ museum, also designed this project.]

At the same time, there are a lot of international exhibitions going to China and new fairs opening up. This year, there will even be a hotel fair in Beijing!

Liste of galleries participating in the 1st edition of JingArt

千高原艺术空间 A THOUSAND PLATEAUS ART SPACE · GALLERY ALL · AYE 画廊 AYE GALLERY · BLAIN|SOUTHERN · 前波画廊 CHAMBERS FINE ART · 杜梦堂 GALERIE DUMONTEIL · 诚品画廊 ESLITE GALLERY · 美术文献艺术中心 FINE ARTS LITERATURE ART CENTER · 豪瑟沃斯画廊 HAUSER & WIRTH · HDM GALLERY · 蜂巢当代艺术中心 HIVE CENTER FOR CONTEMPORARY ART · ANNA HU 高订珠宝 ANNA HU HAUTE JOAILLERIE · 耿画廊 TINA KENG GALLERY · 大未来林舍画廊 LIN & LIN GALLERY · 玉兰堂 LINE GALLERY · 德玉堂画廊 MATTHEW LIU FINE ARTS · 长征空间 LONG MARCH SPACE  · 美博空间 MEBOSPACE · 55号院子艺术空间 NO.55 ART SPACE · 北京艺门画廊 PÉKIN FINE ARTS · 贝浩登 PERROTIN · 偏锋新艺术空间 PIFO GALLERY · QIU FINE JEWELRY · 香格纳画廊 SHANGHART GALLERY · 势象空间 SHIXIANG SPACE · 艸居 SOKYO GALLERY · 东京画廊 + BTAP TOKYO GALLERY + BTAP · 艺·凯旋画廊 TRIUMPH GALLERY · 白盒子收藏 WHITE BOX · 白石画廊 WHITESTONE GALLERY · 正观堂 ZHENG GUAN TANG ORIENTAL ART · 卓纳画廊 DAVID ZWIRNER

Read Bao Yifeng's Proust Questionnaire