森林,设计师:“在Lava工作的人定义了这里的风格”

森林(Céline Lamée)是来自荷兰的平面设计师,5年前来到北京建立了熔岩北京(Lava Beijing)设计工作室。最早脱胎于阿姆斯特丹Lava母公司的设计工作室在成立后不久就由森林接管,在她的带领下,熔岩北京完成了许多有趣的设计项目,这其中包括和社区相关的自发项目,比如“移动设计公司”和“窗口服务”项目,这些项目使得熔岩北京在本地社区和业界获得了不少关注。

“移动设计公司”项目,图片由Lava提供

“移动设计公司”项目,图片由Lava提供

LAVA这个名字的由来是什么?

LAVA已经存在28年前了,1990年由Hans Wolbers和他的合伙人一起创立。他们成立工作室后第一件事就是去度假了一个月,因为他们觉得之后的工作会非常忙碌。他们是分开各自旅行的,但是突然有一天,他们在印度尼西亚的Mt. Bromo火山相遇了,完全是巧遇。他们觉得这是一个美丽的邂逅,所以决定给工作室起名叫LAVA。

火山本身也意味着总有新的事物喷薄而出,就像我们的设计本身也并没有确定的风格,在这里工作的人定义了这里的风格。

你们为什么觉得成立一个北京办公室呢?

我在LAVA工作了11年,在阿姆斯特丹工作了6年,之后的5年在北京建立了这里的工作室。

在来这里之前我对中国一无所知,来中国也不是我的梦想。我只是想在生活中找些不一样的东西。当我的老板问我是否想去中央美院教授一个工作坊的时候,我立即决定抓住这个机会。到了北京之后,我完全被震惊了,许多新事物在这里发生,混乱又疯狂,我在这里认识了许多对设计感兴趣的很酷的人。我立刻就爱上了北京并且决定留下来。我和另一位同事从零开始创建了北京LAVA,我们慢慢地有了一个客户,然后第二个,之后逐渐建立起了现在的事业。几年前,我从前老板的手上接受了LAVA。

这5年发生了哪些变化?

我来到这里的时候只有一位同事,我们不认识任何人,我们在咖啡厅和公寓里面工作。之后我们的客户有北京设计周、法国使馆、瑞士使馆、澳大利亚使馆和荷兰使馆工作,还有长江、优信二手车、OCAT、深圳海洋世界、北京太古里等等。越来越多的人了解了我们,更多的项目找上我们。现在我们有一个5人组成的国际团队,这里有:中国人、法国人、马来西亚人、俄罗斯人和荷兰人。

能不能和我们分享一些让你们感到兴奋的项目?

尽管客户很多样,既有企业,也有文化活动,但我们工作的方式是一样的。我们试着找出组织的核心要素,然后翻译成视觉语言。有时很大胆,有时很幽默,有一些我们自己发起的项目直接反映了我们工作和生活的社区。

2017中法文化之春(文化活动)

在第十二届中法文化之春时,我们将法国和中国元素的图片用加号和等号连接起来。并且用并列的形式创作了简短的视觉小故事。

小聚会(企业)

我们曾为山东烟台的一个餐饮中心设计了以图案形状为基础的视觉形象。图案中众多的logo代表了美食馆里各种商家的多样性。Logo灵感来自于二十世纪初在烟台的中国和外国企业家的品牌。

窗口服务(自主发起)

从2017年年初以来,很多北京的小商铺被迫关门封墙,有些还在开业的只能靠一个小窗口贩卖东西,勉力维持。我们每天经过这些地方,觉得应该在窗口设计中加入一些欢乐的元素。

LAVA作为一家外国设计事务所,是如何适应中国的文化的呢?在设计方面有哪些体现?

我更愿意称我们为一个国际事务所,而不是外国事务所。我感到在中国做设计有很多我们无法控制的因素,但我们尽可能集中在我们能做的事情上,在我们的周围运用设计,并且保持积极的态度。另外,由于我的中文不好,设计使我能更直接和北京的社区产生联结。

从客户反馈中学习也与我之前在荷兰的经历不同,荷兰人可能是出了名的直脾气,但是在中国我们收到的反馈时常是非常模糊的。比如说“我们觉得颜色再调整一下比较好”其实意味着“不要再让我看到这个颜色”,所以在这些年的工作中我们学会了在这样的反馈中提取出关键的信息。

新主意日历,图片由Lava提供

新主意日历,图片由Lava提供

视觉语言在中国有什么不同呢?

我想到了几个例子。

比如说设计需要是看起来平衡的,比如说我们给一个中法辩论赛做的设计,全都是和门相关的,我们首先放了一个中国的大门,然后下半部分是水中映照出的埃菲尔铁塔的形象,比较好玩的点在于你可以随意转换上下顺序。但是客户说:“不行,你不能把一个门放在另一个的上面,这样就不平衡了”。我们说:“你可以转换顺序”。但客户坚持认为这会让处于下方的一方难堪。阴阳平衡是中国人看中的,但这并不意味着你要按照字面意思转换成设计语言。

再比如,我们为一个展览做了一个黑白的设计,设计元素本身很酷,甚至有点疯狂。设计方案拿给客户看时,大家都感到满意,但是突然有一个人在展示的最后阶段说:“我不知道为什么,这个设计让我想起了坟墓。”中国的墓碑一般是黑白色的,这一点我们很清楚,但是这和设计的比例和构成有关。如果说黑白两色完全不能使用的话,那我们会失去很多有趣的设计元素。

在为一个丝绸之路会议做设计时,我们设计了由线条组成的抽象图形,像是丝绸一样交错的线条形成了汉字。但是这位中国客户很不喜欢抽象的设计,因为他认为中国的观众无法理解抽象的图形。但我觉得这种说法是不合理,只要看一眼汉字的抽象形态就能证明这一点。

在中国让大家理解设计的重要性是不是很困难呢?

可能是困难的,但是现在我们的中国客户有越来越多的年轻企业家,或是曾去国外学习过的人。他们找我们做设计是有理由的,因为他们喜欢我们简介和概念化的手法。你可以从中国文化中学习到很多并且运用它们,即便是在当代领域也可以很好地应用。这是我们试图在许多项目中实现的,在新事物上留下标记而不是呈现既有的中国视觉事物。

阅读森林的普鲁斯特问卷

Céline Lamée, graphic designer and director of Lava Beijing: "In China, things have to be in balance visually"

Céline Lamée, a Dutch graphic designer, settled in Beijing 5 years ago to establish Lava Beijing, a design agency first born out of the parent company in Amsterdam. We caught up with Céline on Lava’s cross-cultural designs and community-related projects such Mobile Design Agency and Window Shopping, which made Lava famous in the local community and in the industry. 

DSC_4736_car_cl copy.jpg

Where does the name LAVA come from?

Lava was founded 28 years ago, in 1990, by Hans Wolbers and his business partner at the time. The very first thing they did was to go on holiday for a month, because they reckoned they’d be too busy later. They traveled separately but one day, just by chance, they met at Mt. Bromo volcano in Indonesia. They thought it was a pretty cool coincidence, so they called their new design company Lava. With a volcano, there’s always new stuff bubbling out. There is no certain style of what we do and our designs. It’s more like whoever works there sets the style.

Why did you decide to set up a Beijing agency?

I have been working in Lava for 11 years in total. I worked in Amsterdam for six years and I came to China around 5 years ago, to set up Lava Beijing. I didn’t know anything about China before coming here. It wasn’t my dream or anything. I just wanted to do something different in my life. When my boss asked me if I wanted to go teach a workshop at CAFA, I jumped at the chance. I was completely blown away. So many things are going on here, it was chaos and crazy, a cool scene to meet a lot of people interested in design. I loved it immediately and decided to stay. A colleague and I started Lava Beijing from scratch. We met one client, then another and things grew from there. I got the chance to take it over as my own company a couple of years ago.

What has changed or evolved, in 5 years?

I came here with just one colleague. We didn’t know anyone, and we just worked from cafes and out of our apartment. Since then we have worked for Beijing Design Week, the French, Swiss, Australian and Dutch Embassy, CKGSB长江 , UXIN 优信二手车, OCAT and Seaworld in Shenzhen, Taikooli in Beijing, among others. More and more people have got to know about us and projects have been flowing in. Now we have a studio with an international team: Chinese, French, Malaysian, Russian, Chinese and Dutch.

Can you tell more about a few projects that have been really exciting here?

Although the clients vary from corporate to cultural, we approach all of our assignments in the same way. We try to find the core of what an organization is about and translate that in a clear visual way. Sometimes bold, sometimes with humor. Many of our self-initiated projects reflect directly on the community in which we live and work.

Croisements 2017  (cultural)

Since it was the 12th edition of the festival (十二 in Chinese) we combined images from France and China using the + and = . Creating ultra short visual stories using juxtapositions.

Meet Market 2017 (corporate)

For a foodcourt in Yantai, Shandong, we made a visual identity in the shape of a pattern. The many logos in the pattern represent the range of different tenants inside. The logos are inspired by early 20th century brands from Chinese and foreign entrepreneurs in Yantai.

Window Shopping 2017 (self-initiated)

 Since the beginning of 2017 a lot of small businesses in Beijing were knocked down or forced to close. Those still open had maybe just one window from which to sell their goods. We’d pass them every day and thought they could use a bit of happiness, in the shape of design. 

How does an international design company like Lava Beijing confront China and a different culture? What does it mean in terms of graphic design?

I feel there are lots of things you can't control, but I try to focus on what we can do, using design, in our immediate surroundings, and keeping a positive vibe. Also, since my Chinese is not great, design allows me to connect in a direct way with the community in Beijing. Learning from feedback is also different than what I was used to in there Netherlands. As you might have heard we are known to be direct people. In China strong feedback usually reaches you in a softer way. For example ‘We think it might be a good idea to adjust that color’ definitely means ‘Don’t show me this color again’  So we’ve learned to pick up on those signs a bit better over the years.

New Idea Calendar, courtesy of Lava Beijing

New Idea Calendar, courtesy of Lava Beijing

How is visual language different in China?

A few examples I’ve come across so far.

Things have to be in balance visually. For example we were doing a design for a Sino-French debate and it was all about gates. We had this Chinese gate, and there was water underneath with a reflection of the Arc de Triomphe. The fun thing was you could switch them around, with each gate either on top or in the reflection. But then the client said, “No, you cannot have one on the top of the other, the balance is lost.” We said, “But you can switch.” They argued that it would be embarassing for the one at the bottom. Yin yang is all about balance, for sure, but there’s no need to translate that literally into your design.

We made a black and white design for an exhibition, super crazy, super cool. Showed it to the client and everyone was okay, but there was this one guy who, at the end of the presentation, said: ‘I don’t know, it makes me think of a funeral.’ Chinese funeral banners are black and white, true. But it’s all about proportion and composition. It wouldn’t leave many happy designers in a country where you can never touch black and white, haha.

For a conference on the Silk Road we made an abstract design of lines, weaving into each other, creating characters,  like weaving silk. The Chinese client’s main objection was the abstraction, on the basis that a Chinese audience cannot understand abstract shapes. I think this is complete nonsense.  One glance at Chinese characters proves it.

Today our Chinese clients tend to be younger entrepreneurs or people who have travelled around or studied abroad. They come to us for a reason and they like our clear and conceptual approach. You can take ideas from Chinese culture and do something contemporary with them. That’s what we try to do with a lot of our projects, carving out something new instead of representing an existing visual of China.

Read Celine's Proust Questionnaire