郭盈光,摄影师:“我并没有导演任何东西”

郭盈光毕业于伦敦艺术大学传媒学院摄影专业,曾作为一名摄影记者为英国路透社、China Daily等媒体拍摄作品,也曾为久石让等知名人士拍摄肖像和传记封面。

她是2017年集美·阿尔勒-Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖的获奖者,该奖项于2017年由Madame Figaro中文版与集美·阿尔勒摄影季联合发起,也是国内首个女性摄影师奖,郭盈光凭借《顺从的幸福》系列作品成为了第一位获此殊荣的艺术家,该系列从关于“剩女”现象的调研出发,继而引发了郭盈光对于“相亲公园”和“安排婚姻”的关注,作品系列中还有一部分关注了两个被安排婚姻的对象之间的“假性亲密关系”。2018年7月,郭盈光受邀于法国阿尔勒摄影节举办个展,DOORS门艺在展览开幕前对艺术家进行了采访。

郭盈光,《无题》,来自《顺从的幸福》系列,2016年

郭盈光,《无题》,来自《顺从的幸福》系列,2016年

2017年你获得了集美·阿尔勒女性摄影师奖,这一奖项不仅是对你作品的肯定,也使你在摄影领域跻身前列,那么这个奖项对你个人层面有什么影响?

如果没有何伊宁把我的作品带到集美阿尔勒,以及之后的获奖和媒体曝光,我应该依旧把做作品作为一个爱好,一件让我开心的事。我完全没想过会有像今天这样的采访,以及去法国展出的机会,我觉得很幸运,去阿尔勒摄影节展览是很难得的机会。

我过去没有给自己定位为女性摄影师,尽管我关注的问题确实和女性相关。现在我会更加确定自己的一些想法,也会参加一些和女性议题相关的研讨,我想之后也会持续地关注这方面的问题。

《顺从的幸福》系列主要是黑白影像,请问是否有什么特别的理由选择了黑白照片呢?通过这些黑白影像想要传达什么内在涵义呢?

在手工书里面,纪实的部分照片还是彩色的;我的蚀刻作品是黑白的,想营造情绪上的反差。纸本的那些照片作品,A4纸这些被拍摄物本身就是黑白的,但是其中出现的红绳颜色是被保留下来的。

那么可以具体讲一下红绳这个意向有什么特别的含义呢?

在做作品的时候,我发现红绳的元素出现得很频繁,很多家长会以不同的形式展示A4的纸张(相亲者的简历),也会把红绳拴在伞上和树上,我当时在相亲公园观察的时候会把夹子、红绳这些悬挂方式相关的元素记下来,回头重新整理和创作的时候,我觉得红绳是一个可以运用进来的元素。

而且红绳在中国婚姻中有着特殊的寓意,所以在书里和作品里都有红绳的身影。不仅是实体的红绳,我也观察到家长们展示出来的纸张上,但凡年龄、性别这些重要信息,也会用红线标记出来,这部分是隐喻的红绳,和实体的红绳相呼应。

郭盈光阿尔勒个展现场装置

郭盈光阿尔勒个展现场装置

在上海创作作品期间,你目睹这些场景的感受是怎样的?

我第一次去之前其实在网上看见过,也做了一些信息整理,但当我第一次到相亲公园的时候,还是受到了震撼,那种热闹的程度令人震惊。因为我去得很频繁,很多人都变成了熟脸,在我后来做行为作品和补拍照片的时候,他们也都还在那里,去相亲公园变成了他们生活中的一种常态,甚至有时候天气不好他们也都在那里。我第一捕捉到他们的表情也让我震撼,很多人问我是不是导演了这些妈妈的表情,但其实这是我的意外发现,当时我只感到大家的繁忙,一些相互聊得投机的家长还会到附近的小树林里面单独商讨。我并没有导演任何东西,这些都是我抓拍到的场景,她们的状态非常相似,我对此也感到好奇,这也是我反复去相亲公园的原因之一。

这一系列的作品本身非常诗意,但同时又很忧伤,它揭示了这些关系的脆弱和痛苦。你能谈谈你自己对包办婚姻以及它在中国的影响的看法吗?

听起来包办婚姻似乎是久远的事情,但在我做这个项目的时候,我觉得这就像复古的衣服又变回了潮流一样。我很震惊在社会发展到现在居然还存在这样的地方,这让我感受到巨大的反差。

我以前会认为这是一个代际差异,是因为我们和父母那一代有观念上的根本差异,但是在项目曝光度增加之后,我也看到了一些网上对作品的讨论,我发现很多年轻人也有类似的想法,我现在会觉得包办婚姻会以某种方式继续存在下去。前段时间我了解到Ayawawa(主张女人应该利用性别“优势”来获取利益的“两性情感专家”)的事件,有时候不仅仅是她的理论让人感到无力,而是她分享出来的案例,有些女孩按照她的理论获得了所谓幸福的婚姻,这才更让我感到很悲伤很无力,感觉真的是在倒退。

在你的作品中,也运用到了其他艺术手法,比如视频和装置,你是如何想到用这些艺术方式来支持自己的摄影作品的呢?

在《顺从的幸福》这个作品里,我不光是要让大家看到相亲公园的样子,还需要让大家了解到我提出的问题,我的观点以及情绪。所以不管是纪实,录像,还是摄影书都变成了服务观念的材料。我对这些材料进行加工,试验,组合更希望的是运用摄影去展示并建立多重关系。不单单是你所看到的,还有人们之间发生的,这个发生也许是一个进行时态。

其实我最开始着手的是纸张的部分,但是调研的部分是从自身的感觉,即对“剩女”这个现象的思考出发,所以我调研到了相亲公园和安排婚姻的现象,进一步发展到研究两个被安排婚姻的对象之间的“假性亲密关系”。后来做作品的时候也有一些新的想法迸发出来,我觉得对于“剩女”的部分一开始没有明显的体现,大家只看到了父母的在场,但其实孩子也在场,只是以纸的形式存在,没有人会考虑作为一张“纸”的孩子经历了什么。因此我的行为和视频更像是把自己化作那张“纸”,把这种经历实体化。其实在相亲的简历上怎么写都行,我也给自己也了一个,我当时不是很确定年龄是否是一个绝对重要的条件,因此我想试一试,结果发现年龄真的是大家的首要考量。人们的反应非常真实,即便他们尽力掩饰,但眼神还是说明了一切,现场也会有人很直接地说出“勇气可嘉”这样的话。

布展中的郭盈光

布展中的郭盈光

你在阿尔勒即将开幕的展览会是你在法国的第一次完整个展,即将面向法国的公众展出作品,你有没有什么特别的期待呢?

其实手工书曾被带到法国参加展览,当时收到了一些反馈,有法国的社会学家和人类学家对这个议题很感兴趣,希望和我聊一聊。我的视频也在一个性别相关的讲座上播放过,引起了一些反响。但是阿尔勒的展览会面向更大的观众,我没有特别明确要达成的目标,最希望的是能清楚地表达我想传达的概念,能让观众理解到、感受到。

未来有哪一个社会议题会让你有兴趣去创作新的作品系列呢?

我近期在关注东南亚地区存在的“租妻”现象,这在当地已经形成了一个产业。我在查看相关资料的时候也发现,很多外国人也和自己租借的妻子产生了很深的感情,我见到过一些大巴车站的送别场景,也十分令人动容,我更希望关注的是这个现象当中的复杂的情感联结,并不仅是这个现象本身。

阅读郭盈光的普鲁斯特问卷

Guo Yingguang, photographer and winner of the first Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award: "I’ve never positioned myself as a female photographer per se"

Guo Yingguang graduated from the University of the Arts, London. She has worked as a photojournalist for Reuters, China Daily and other media. She has also portrayed famous figures such as Joe Hisaishi.

Guo Yingguang was the winner of the 2017 Jimei x Arles-Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award, the first award of its kind in China, which was launched in 2017 by Jimei x Arles photo festival and Madame Figaro China. The series The Bliss of Conformity started from an investigation of the phenomenon of "leftover women", which in turn triggered Guo Yingguang's attention to "the blind date park" and "arranged marriages". 

In July 2018, Guo Yingguang was invited to exhibit her works at Rencontres d'Arles. Doors interviewed her before the opening of the exhibition in France.

Guo Yingguang,  Untitled , from the series  The Bliss of Conformity,  2016

Guo Yingguang, Untitled, from the series The Bliss of Conformity, 2016

How has the Jimei x ArlesMadame Figaro Women Photographers award you won in 2017, which brought your work to the forefront of the photographic scene, affected you on a personal level?

If curator He Yining had not taken my work to Jimei x Arles, and I hadn’t won an award and had so much media exposure, I would probably still see it as a kind of hobby, something to do that makes me happy. To be taking interviews like this one, and having the chance to exhibit in France makes me feel truly blessed. I know that taking part in the Arles Photo Festival is a rare opportunity.

I’ve never positioned myself as a female photographer per se, although the issues I focus on are indeed women-related. I’ve got more confidence in my own ideas now, making me more willing to participate in discussions related to women's issues. Going forward, I think I will carry on focusing on this side of things.

In your series “The Bliss of Conformity” your photos are all in black and white, is there a reason for this choice? What meaning were you trying to convey?

Some of the documentary photos in the handmade book I made after this series are in color; my etchings are black and white. I wanted to create an emotional contrast. The photographs on paper, the objects on A4 paper, are themselves in black and white, but the red strings in the photos retain their original color.

What is the specific meaning of the red string?

When I was creating this work, I found that the red string element made a frequent appearance. Parents displayed A4 paper (matchmaking introductions) in various forms. Some tied red string to umbrellas and trees. Collecting elements from the matchmaking park, I made a note of how many things were displayed by hanging, being clipped or tied on with red string. Looking over this material to make something of it all, I noticed the red string threaded throughout the images and I decided to make use of this in my work.

Underlying this, red string has a special meaning in Chinese marriage, woven into books and art. This is not just a physical red string, but also depicted on the papers displayed by parents. The most important information such as age and gender is all marked in red. In a way, the metaphorical red string echoes the real red string.

View of Guo Yingguang's exhibition at Rencontres d'Arles

View of Guo Yingguang's exhibition at Rencontres d'Arles

During your work in Shanghai, what was it like to witness this phenomenon?

Before I went for the first time, I had just gathered information online. So when arrived at the matchmaker’s park for the first time, I was shocked. The level of bustle and excitement was incredible. I went often after that, and people got used to me. Later, when I took photos, the same people were in the park. I reckon it had become a regular part of their lives. Even when the weather was bad people still went. The expression on their faces also shocked me. Many people asked if I had directed my photographic subjects, these women. The answer is it was all by chance. At the time, I just felt the bustle, and noticed that deals were made off to one side among the trees. I did not direct anything. What I saw was what I captured on camera. The matchmakers were all in a similar position. I was also curious about this. This is one of the reasons I went back so often.

This series has a very poetic and almost melancholic feel to it, it is a series that transpire the fragility and pain of those conditions. Could you talk a little bit about your view on the issue of arranged marriage and its consequences in China?

I had thought arranged marriage was something of the past, but when I was doing this project, I saw how popular it had become again, a bit like retro fashion. I was shocked that despite society having developed as much as it has, there was still a place for arranged marriage. A huge cultural chasm had opened up.

I used to think that it was down to an intergenerational gap. Our values are fundamentally different from those of our parents’ generation. But after deepening my exposure, I saw online discussions about my work, and found that many young people today have similar ideas. I have come round to believing that in some shape or form arrangement marriages are here to stay. Recently I learned about Ayawawa (a “bisexual emotional expert” who advocates that women should use their gender “advantages” to their benefit). Sometimes it’s not just her theory that makes people feel powerless, but also the cases she shares. Some girls applied her theory and are now in so-called happy marriages, and this makes me feel sad and powerless. I really think it’s a step in the wrong direction.

In your work you also use other form of creative artistic practices such as videos and installations, how did you come about using these artistic methods to support your photography?

In “The Bliss of Conformity” I wanted to show everyone what was happening in these matchmaker parks, and I wanted people to understand the questions I was raising, my views and emotions. Documentary evidence, video, and photo books all turn into concept-serving material in the end. I’ve added value to these materials by experimenting, and combining, using photography to reveal something of the relationships at play. Not only what you see, but also what happens between people, in the present continuous tense.

Actually, I started with the paper part, but a part of my research was based on my own feelings about the phenomenon of “leftover women.” This led me to investigate matchmaking parks and arranged marriages. I then developed  a study of the “pseudo intimacy” between two sides of an arranged marriage. Working on this later, new ideas came to light. I felt that the “leftover women” part was not clearly reflected from the beginning. We only saw the presence of parents, but the child was also there, just on paper. No one was thinking about that “paper child’s” experiences. In my work, I turned myself into “paper” and materialized the experience by writing my own dating resume. I was not sure whether age was an essential condition at that time, so I wanted to give it a try. What I found was that age really was everyone’s primary consideration. People's reactions were very real. Even if they did their best to conceal it, you could see it in their eyes. Some people even came up to me in the park to praise my “courage.”

Guo Yingguang at work

Guo Yingguang at work

Your exhibition in Arles means that you will be showing your work for the first time in France, is there anything in particular you are hoping for with a larger French public?

Actually, the handmade book has already been taken to France for exhibition. I received some feedback at the time. Some French sociologists and anthropologists were very interested in this topic and wanted to discuss it with me. My video was also broadcast as part of a discussion on gender, with some repercussions. The Arles exhibition is aimed at a larger audience, and I do not have any clear goal. All I hope is that I can clearly express my ideas and bring them to an audience that is able to feel them too.

In the future, what is a social topic that could interest you in developing a new series?

I’ve been looking into the Southeast Asian phenomenon of “wife-renting” that has become a big business in the region. Looking at relevant information, I also discovered that many of the foreigners had developed deep feelings for their rented wife. I’ve seen very moving farewells at bus stations for example. I will continue to focus on this: the complex emotional connections involved, more than the actual phenomenon itself.

Read Guo Yingguang's Proust Questionnaire