雷磊,艺术家、2018集美·阿尔勒发现奖获奖者:《观众获得了更多的权利,而不是艺术家。》

雷磊

雷磊

1985 年出生于江西省南昌市。生活和工作于北京及洛杉矶。独立动画导演,创作同时涉及录像、绘画、装置和音乐现场演出
。

雷磊毕业于清华大学(2009),他的试验性动画作品在世界各地的比赛中获奖。2010年,他的短片《这念头是爱》获得渥太华 国际动画节最佳动画短片奖。 2013 年动画《照片回收》入选昂西国际动画节,获得荷兰国际动 画节最佳动画短片奖。雷磊的作品曾在东亚,欧洲,北美,和澳大利亚的展览中展出。并且他已经完成了几个艺术家驻留项目,包括美国雅多文艺营,亚洲文化协会蔡国强奖学金和加拿大魁北克的La Bande Video当代艺术中心。 2017 年开始任教于洛杉矶加州艺术学院CalAts实验动画专业。

虽然他并不是一名摄影师,但雷磊凭借作品《周末》获得了2018集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季发现奖,《周末》是一个从旧杂志和影集中剪切照片然后拼贴在一起做成的剪辑视频。展览由董冰峰策划。雷磊的作品将在2019年的夏天去到第五十届法国阿尔勒摄影节展出。

雷磊,《盆景艺术展览》,盆景艺术展览办公室,1979年。图片由艺术家提供。

雷磊,《盆景艺术展览》,盆景艺术展览办公室,1979年。图片由艺术家提供。

你因为作品《周末》获得了集美·阿尔勒发现奖,《周末》是一个从旧杂志和影集中剪切照片然后拼贴在一起做成的剪辑视频。你做这份工作的初衷是什么?你是如何收集这些资料的?你又是如何将他们重新剪辑进视频的呢?

对于作品中的素材并不是一蹴而就的,而是在过去的几年内逐渐积累而成的,我一直有收集一些旧书,旧图册的习惯。因为我的父亲从事美术设计工作,所以家中本来就有许多材料,我也会在旧货市场,二手书店购买一些旧书,搜集和扫描其中的图像。2013年我和收藏家苏文合作了项目《照片回收》,在苏文的银矿项目中我也体会了档案和80年代老照片的魅力,自己也会多搜集一些家庭相册。所以,《周末》项目并不是一个有详细计划和蓝图的项目,长期的收集,整理,拼贴,删除的过程中这些材料之间会渐渐发酵,最后自然形成为了这个作品。

雷磊,《这个念头是爱》(2010),2’38”

动画:雷磊,音乐:Li Xingyu,MC: J-fever

你的艺术实践是始于插图和动画的,那后来是为什么、如何开始了摄影方面的工作呢?

我的早期作品有比较强的美术风格,并有浪漫的叙事。当这些动画短片在电影节获得成绩后,观众对我的作品有了固定的印象,似乎我的风格被标签了。我觉得,这对于一个年轻艺术家来说比较危险,我希望探索更多的可能性,而不是在一个安全的区域中。所以从《照片回收》项目开始,我的作品中运用了大量的现呈品,我的工作是整理和归纳,通过逐帧影像寻找自己和素材之间微妙的关系。《照片回收》入选了世界诸多电影节,包括法国昂西动画节,不同的工作方法让我兴奋,让我用新的角度看待动态影像语言。

《照片回收》,2013

动画:雷磊 + Thomas Sauvin,声音: Zafka

一些人对于你最后获得集美·阿尔勒发现奖感到很惊讶,因为你在创作这个项目的过程中都没有使用照相机。尽管如此,评委们都在预选中选择了你的作品。评委之一的周大为先生解释道:“虽然他的作品中并没有用到摄影设备,但他主要依靠的是图像和照片拼贴,并且向我们展示了摄影的新的、无限的可能性。”你对此有何看法?

我觉得策展人董冰峰老师的策展语完全可以回答这个问题:“当下摄影的问题已经让位于图像”  如何生产图像,如何看待图像与图像之间的关系,是艺术家和观众所关心的。在更广泛的语境中而言,是否是摄影,是否使用摄影机并不重要了,重要的是艺术家在作品中讨论的话题。我觉得阿尔勒把大奖颁发给我是一个很大胆的决定,但也是一个宣言式的决定,moving image是重要的创作语言,在未来需要更多的被讨论。

戈达尔电影《周末》法国预告片

为什么你给这个作品取名为《周末》?

因为“周末”是一个较为空旷和放松的时间概念,意味着留白,意味着我们需要在这个时间内有所安排,而我们在时间内拼贴或放置的内容,也许会改变“周末”的含义。在我的作品中,固定的图像通过在时间线上的拼贴和放置,原始的意义被转化了,带有某种情绪和叙事,这是这个作品最美妙的地方。另外,法国导演戈达尔的电影《周末》是我非常喜欢的作品。

在你的作品中, 你涉及到了很多不同的媒介,例如视频、装置、音乐、VJ表演,模糊了不同的艺术类型之间的界限,以及在这些不同的方式之间建立联系和引发讨论。你一直对使用各种不同的媒介方式感兴趣吗?

我想,我一直在尝试最适合自己的表达方式,然而不同的材料和艺术语言并不影响我的表达,无论音乐还是装置,动画或者电影创作,最终还是会汇聚为一点。董冰峰老师在策展语中提到:我的作品时常带有“怀旧”的色彩,我想是的,我认为,所谓的“怀旧”并不是廉价的商业消费标签,我的作品中始终在探讨的是历史,个人记忆,家庭成员口述历史之间微妙的关系,这也许是我近年来比较感兴趣的话题。

我希望我的作品可以创造空间感,图像与图像之间的空气感。
— 雷磊

使用档案照片必然会将观众带入过去或者某种怀旧的时空。你想转达怎样的过去和历史概念?

我在作品中并没有明确的指出目的地,也不希望去引导观众走向特定的历史,我觉得那样就狭窄了。我希望我的作品可以创造空间感,图像与图像之间的空气感。在展览现场,观众可以在图像和声音,音乐和对话文本之间获得相对自如的空间,放置自己的情感和故事,从而完善我的作品和讲述。换句话说,观众获得了更多的权利,而不是艺术家。

你之前也有一个关于档案照片的项目《照片手工上色》(2013),你在这个作品里创造了一个虚拟的过去,用以前跳蚤市场的黑白照片讲述了一个故事,然后你和Thomas Sauvin合作上色。你如何看待收集档案,处理旧物,这些和个人非常无关的材料,依然可以做出很个人化的作品?

在《照片手工上色》项目中,我发现我对于口述历史是非常浪漫及碎片化的,这个结论也许会影响我接下来的其它创作。从《照片回收》到《照片手工上色》,其中搜集档案,基于旧物的工作其实是为了艺术家的自我提问,艺术家在寻找自我和材料之间关系的同时,寻找自我的身份认同。所以我的工作是一个不断发问和寻求答案的过程,在这个过程中私人化的理解和表述方式使得我的作品具有“个人性”。

你对将于明年夏天在阿尔勒摄影节举办的展览有何期待?

这是我从现在到明年夏天需要仔细思考的问题。

雷磊在TED的讲话,上海,2012。

更多关于雷磊的作品信息可以在他的 个人网站Vimeo 账号, Instagram, 微信公众号:Leilei_animation 和 微博 上查看。

Lei Lei, artist and winner of the Jimei x Arles Discovery Award: “The spectator should be the one to gain rights, not the artist”

Lei Lei

Lei Lei

Born 1985 in Nanchang (Jiangxi province), Lei Lei is an artist based in Beijing and Los Angeles, with his hands on animation, video, illustration, painting, graffiti, installation art, music and VJing.

An alumnus of Tsinghua University in Beijing (2009), Lei Lei has won awards at festivals around the world for his experimental animation work. In 2010, his short film This is LOVE received the Best Narrative Short award at Ottawa International Animation Festival. In 2013, his film Recycled, in collaboration with Thomas Sauvin, was selected by the Annecy animation festival and won the Grand Prix shorts - non-narrative at the Holland International Animation Film Festival. Lei Lei’s work has been featured in exhibitions throughout East Asia, Europe, North America, and Australia, and he has completed several artist residencies, including Yaddo, the Asian Cultural Council Cai fellowship, and La Bande Video in Quebec, Canada. In 2017, he was enrolled as a faculty member of CalArts Experimental Animation program in California.

Although he is not a photographer, Lei Lei won the Jimei x Arles Discovery Award in 2018 with Weekend, a video collage of images taken from photo albums and old magazines, shown in an exhibition curated by Dong Bingfeng. His exhibition will travel to Arles in Summer 2019 for the 50th edition of Rencontres d’Arles.

Lei Lei,  Potted Landscape Art Exhibition,  Bonsai Art Exhibition Office, 1979 © Courtesy of the artist

Lei Lei, Potted Landscape Art Exhibition, Bonsai Art Exhibition Office, 1979 © Courtesy of the artist

You won the Jimei x Arles Discovery Award for Weekend, a video collage of images taken from old magazines and photo albums. What was your original intention with this work? How did you collect the materials and how did you rework them in the video montage? 

It took me years to gather all the material used in this work; it isn’t something that happened overnight. For a long time I’ve had the habit of collecting old books and magazines from second-hand bookstores. And because my father worked in graphic design, we’ve always had a lot of art materials lying around in the house. I would scan or look for images and pictures in flea markets and dusty bookshops. In 2013, while working on Recycled with artist and collector Thomas Sauvin and exploring his Beijing Silvermine collection of photo archive, I discovered the charm of old photo albums from the 80’s, and realized I should pay more attention to my own family’s albums. Weekend did not emerge from any detailed blueprint but rather from a longterm collection which has been painstakingly sifted through, selected and pasted together; this became a series naturally in its own right.

Lei Lei, This is LOVE (2010), 2’38”

Animation: Lei Lei, Music: Li Xingyu, MC: J-fever

Your artistic practice started out with illustration and animation. Why and how did you start using photography?

My early work was classically artistic in style. I was given to romantic narratives. But when my animated shorts came out, my audience began to label my style. I soon realized I needed a way out. I felt that as a young artist, being boxed in was dangerous. I still had so much to explore and couldn’t do anything from a comfort zone. Starting with Recycled, I began using a lot of pre-existing material, and took on the role of compiler, drawing delicate links between myself and each raw article, exploring their inner meaning. Recycled was shown at many film festivals including the Annecy Animation Festival. I got a lot of pleasure from using different media, and exploring new perspectives on the language of dynamic imagery.    

Recycled, 2013

Animation by Lei Lei + Thomas Sauvin, Sound Art by Zafka

Some people were surprised that you won the Discovery Award at Jimei x Arles International Photo Festival because you did not use a photo camera for this project. Nevertheless the jury members for the award all pre-selected your work. One of the jury members, collector and art entrepreneur David Chau, explained: «Although no photo equipment is used in his work, he relies mainly on image and photo collages, and shows us new, unlimited possibilities for photography». What is your view on this?

I’d like to quote my curator Dong Bingfeng, as his introduction to my exhibition answers this question best: “The problem with photography today is that it has given way to imagery.” The relationship between images, how they are produced and viewed, is the relationship between the artist and the audience. In broader terms, it doesn’t really matter whether it’s an actual photo or if camera equipment is being used. What matters is the question raised by the artist’s work. I think that by selecting my work, Jimei x Arles made a strong statement. By making this decision, the festival manifested that the moving image is an important artistic medium, and should be discussed more in the future.

French release trailer for Jean-Luc Godard's WEEKEND (1967)

Why did you call this piece Weekend?

The weekend is a period of relaxation or an blank slate. It’s a time in which we need to make arrangements and decide what to do next. How we schedule our weekend determines what it means to us. In my work, fixed images are placed on a timeline and their meaning changes accordingly. The emotions and narrative change too, and this is the best part about this work. I also chose the name because I really like French New Wave director Jean-Luc Godard’s Weekend (1967).

In your work, you have your hands on a large range of material such as video, installation, music, VJ performance, blurring the boundaries that can be drawn between different types of arts, and creating a connection and discussion between these different genres. Were you always interested in working with such diverse equipment? 

I think I've been trying the most suitable means of expression, but this doesn’t come from my use of various materials and artistic language. No matter whether I use music, installation, moving images or film, everything will come together in the end. Dong Bingfeng mentioned my use of “nostalgia” in his curatorial introduction. I like to think it isn’t some kind of cheap consumer version, but rather an exploration of history, personal memory, delicate oral histories of family relations, that has coloured my artistic language in recent years.

I want to offer space, and a feeling of emptiness between images.
— Lei Lei

Using archive pictures necessarily sends the viewers into the past or into some sort of nostalgic space-time. What conception of history and of the past are you trying to convey?

My work doesn’t indicate a specific destination, and I hope it doesn't lead people in one direction or another. That would be very narrowing. I want to offer space, and a feeling of emptiness between images. I hope that between the music, images and dialogue, people have the occasion for self-reflection, an opportunity to add their own emotions and stories to the picture. Put another way, the spectator should be the one to gain rights, not the artist.

You have worked with archive pictures before: in Hand-coloured (2013), you created a virtual past, made up a story from old flea market black and white photos that you hand coloured in collaboration with Thomas Sauvin. How do you think collecting archives, working with fragments of history, very impersonal material, can still result in something very personal?

In Hand-coloured, I realized my experience of oral history was extremely fragmented. This realization will probably have an impact on future works. In Recycled and Hand-coloured, while gathering material, the artist is in quest for self-understanding, and while drawing links between self and image, is searching for self-identity. This process of bringing understanding and ways of expression towards myself makes my work particularly “personal”.

What do you expect from your upcoming exhibition at Rencontres d’Arles next summer?

I’ll be spending a lot of time between now and next summer thinking about this issue.

Lei Lei’s talk at TED Shanghai 2012

More information about Lei Lei’s work on his website, his Vimeo account, Instagram, WeChat: Leilei_animation and Weibo