廖逸君:“我作品的灵感来自于我作为一个成长于中国的女孩,以及在当今世界作为一名女性的感悟。“

廖逸君,红色指甲(2014)

廖逸君,红色指甲(2014)

廖逸君生于上海,现居纽约。她是孟菲斯大学的摄影硕士。廖逸君的摄影作品一般用幽默和鲜艳的色彩探索身份和性别的问题,并探讨有关女性的刻板印象和恋人之间关系的问题。

她的作品曾在何香凝美术馆、纽约性博物馆 、亚洲协会休斯顿分馆、上海 K11美术馆、Leo Xu Projects、纽约花画廊、Metro Pictures画廊展出。她也曾参加过在伦敦和美国的艺术驻留项目,并且曾获得过纽约摄影艺术基金、En Foco's New Works基金和LensCulture 曝光奖。

今年,中国艺术书实践机构假杂志出版了一本关于廖逸君做了十年的项目《实验性关系》的书,书名是《实验性关系Vol.1 2007-2017》,并获得了光圈-巴黎摄博会评委会特别奖2018集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季是廖逸君第一次向中国观众公开展览自己的作品,并且获得了2018集美· 阿尔勒 - Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖

廖逸君,软跟鞋,2013,3D打印,金属,7 x 3 x 7 英尺

廖逸君,软跟鞋,2013,3D打印,金属,7 x 3 x 7 英尺


在你的
实验性关系和《只为你的眼睛》系列中,你探讨了性别认同和女性表现在当代社会中的问题,这些似乎是你作品的核心:在《软跟鞋(2013)》中,你穿着一双形状像你男朋友的阴茎的高跟鞋; 在《奶瓶(2015)》中,你使用一对硅胶乳房,并在你的男朋友身上喷牛奶(像给花园浇奶中看到的一样),你回收了女性的性感并将其变成一个反抗的武器,包括喂食和攻击。 就这个话题,你是怎么想的呢?

我作品的灵感来自于我作为一个成长于中国的女孩,以及在当今世界作为一名女性的感悟。很多时候我会对大众都认同的事情感觉到困惑,为什么自己没有同感。例如,为什么高跟鞋如此受追捧, 而对我而言它们只是一种折磨。或者为什么女性应该成为母亲和爱人, 还是我感觉自己不那么女人?多年来积累的疑惑,促使我尝试在自己的作品中为自己解答这些问题。

你的《实验性关系》和《只为你的眼睛》系列,现在正在集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季展出,你让观众们可以一睹你们的私人空间,你们代表照片中的你自己和你的男朋友:你们的身体,你们的关系,你们的亲密。你对于分享这种亲密有什么想法?

所有的照片都是摆拍的。 虽然它们似乎处于亲密的环境中,但这些是我以为公众创作图像为目标设计的场景。 当我们在照片中时,我们是作为相机的表演者来制造图像。 图中的我们并不完全是自己。

你认为在镜头前和在镜头后是同样重要的嘛?

是的,我认为对于这个项目,在镜头后面和前面都很重要。 在镜头后面,我是摄影师,是导演。 在镜头前,我在扮演我设计的角色。 重要的是我既是摄影师又是模特,因为这个项目源于我的现实生活。

重要的是我既是摄影师又是模特,因为这个项目源于我的现实生活。
— 廖逸君

为什么你的这个系列取名叫《实验性关系》?

一开始,作为一个中国女人,约会一个比自己年轻的日本男性,似乎不会长久。 所以我称它为实验,只是为了看它会持续多久。 我想一般来说,所有的关系或多或少都像实验。

对于第一次在你的祖国,中国的公共摄影节上展出这个系列,你有什么感受?你和你的策展人容思玉是怎样一起研究展览概念的?

 这是我第一次在中国的公共摄影节上展示这个项目。老实说,我在参加之前有所顾虑。根据我过去的经验,由于审查和公众接受的原因,我总是避免在任何中国摄影节上展示这个项目。但令我惊讶的是,这次我们没有遇到审查问题。而且在与观众交谈之后,我很高兴地发现,和几年前相比,许多年轻人和年纪大点的人都对我的照片感兴趣。我很高兴看到集美·阿尔勒成功为中国带来了一个国际性的摄影节。

当初是容思玉女士联系我参加展览。当时,我还不确定在中国公开展示这个项目。很高兴,她最终说服了我。得力于她的辛勤工作,这次展览主要由她来安排的。我只是就照片的选择提出了一些建议。她很想把我的两个项目放在一起展出,并使用我设计的壁纸来区别这两个项目。最终的结果让我觉得非常满意。

廖逸君获得集美·阿尔勒 - Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖

廖逸君获得集美·阿尔勒 - Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖

对于获得集美·阿尔勒-Madame Figaro女性摄影师奖,你有何感受?这件事对你和你的作品有什么改变吗?

 在被宣布成为集美·阿尔勒 - MadameFigaro女性摄影师奖的获奖者之后,我有点不知所措。这是一种荣幸,但一切都发生得很快。我甚至没有反应过来我获得该奖项的事,就立即接受了很多媒体的采访。这些天我仍然收到很多媒体采访要求。我希望能保持自己的工作方式。就是正常地生活,并按照自己的节奏工作。我很期待与费加罗夫人杂志合作拍摄,并在明年法国阿尔勒的摄影节中展示我的作品。

你的男朋友呢? 这不是你第一次在你的作品中使用他了,在《阴茎》系列中,你让他按照自己的想法制作阴茎。Moro对于出现和参与你的作品有什么想法?

Moro是一颗珍宝! 他从一开始就接受了我的拍摄邀请。 通常他会同意参加我的作品。 他是一名音乐家。 他是一个非常有创造力的人,也是当代艺术的粉丝。 当我让他制作100个阴茎时,我让他按照自己的想象来创造它们。 他非常喜欢制作不同形状的阴茎的过程。 至于照片,我们已经拍摄了12年了。 他现在把它看作是我们生活的一部分,或者只是我们一起做的一件有趣的事情。 如果我有一段时间停止拍摄,他会鼓励我继续拍照。

你曾经说过,因为你的男友是日本人而你是中国人,这个系列也描述“爱与恨的关系”。你可以稍微详细的谈谈,你是如何通过你们的个人关系和两国的政治关系来体现的?

日本和中国有着悠久而复杂的历史。 它经常是紧张的,有时甚至是敌对的。 但与此同时,两国相互之间有着深刻的影响。 我们的历史是交织在一起的。 我认为它有点像爱与恨的关系,也与我们两人的关系相似。 我认为每个曾在恋爱中的人都会在某种程度上体验到爱/恨的动态。 无论你有多爱他/她,但总你无法忍受你的爱人的时候。 仇恨源于爱,因为爱是一样只存在我们自己想象中的理想状态。 我的很多照片都可以用爱恨来解释,比如当我亲吻他的时候,我同时在窒息他,或者是一个看起来既温柔又富有侵略性的拥抱。 两个恋人同时也是两个竞争对手,建立了一种关系。 尽管如此,我仍然认为我们需要在一起修补我们的关系,就像我们俩的国家一样。

你的照片已经在中国展出过,公共场合或私人画廊。你从中国观众那里得到了什么反馈?对于中国观众的接待和其他国家会有什么不同吗?

与西方观众相比,中国观众一般不太熟悉当代艺术,艺术史和不同的性观念。 在中国的画廊或博物馆展出作品时,我并不感觉中西方有太大不同。但如果在公共场合展示作品,我会碰到到许多随机的问题。在西方国家,我不太碰到这些问题。 总的来说,我发现西方观众喜欢我的作品,可能因为他们认为看到一些关于性别认同的不同观点是新鲜的,特别是来自亚洲艺术家。

但对于亚洲/中国的观众来说,他们对我的作品感到更多共鸣。 因为我们来自相似的文化背景。 如果我在中国展览,总会有年轻的中国女孩跟我说我她们有多喜欢这个作品。
— 廖逸君

虽然我的作品在西方的接受度更高,但我总觉得我的作品仍被视为其他人的作品。 在西方这个作品通常被视为其他人的问题,无论他们是否喜欢我的作品。但对于亚洲/中国的观众来说,他们对我的作品感到更多共鸣。 因为我们来自相似的文化背景。 如果我在中国展览,总会有年轻的中国女孩跟我说我她们有多喜欢这个作品。

下一步计划是什么?你现在正在做什么样的项目?

我正在做一些不需要涉及Moro的东西,只关注女性本身的问题。

你可以跟我们讲一下PIMO这支你和Moro一起做的乐队吗?

我和Moro有一支名为PIMO的乐队。 我们在2011年开始合作音乐。当时Moro厌倦了与他的男性乐队成员一起排练,只想留在家里做音乐,就开始了。 而我总在家里。 在我们的乐队中,Moro是领导者。 他会作曲、演奏、录音,基本上做所有事情,而我只是在乐队里唱歌。 我们通常一起写歌词。 我们称自己为玩具摇滚乐队。 我们唱着关于我们在生活中的共同兴趣的歌曲,比如猫和老奶奶。 你可以在pimo.bandcamp.com上听我们的音乐。

 

通过廖逸君的网站了解更多其他的作品:
pixyliao.com
还有她的社交媒体:
instagram
facebook
twitter

Pixy Liao, artist and winner of the Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award: “I make art based on my feelings growing up as a girl in China, and on how I feel as a woman in today’s world.”

Pixy Liao,  Red Nails  (2014)

Pixy Liao, Red Nails (2014)

Pixy Liao (1979) was born and raised in Shanghai, and currently lives in New York City. She holds an MFA in photography from University of Memphis. Her photographs, sculptures and videos explore, with humor and bright colors, the issue of identity and genre, and question the conventions and stereotypes around womanhood, relationships and couples.

Pixy’s photographs have been exhibited in group exhibitions at He Xiangning Art Museum (China), Museum of Sex (NY), Metro Pictures (NY), First Draft Gallery (Sydney), Asia Society (Houston), and solo exhibitions at Galleri Vasli Souza (Sweden) and Leo Xu Projects (Shanghai). She has also participated in artist residencies in London and in the United States. She is a recipient of NYFA Fellowship in photography, En Foco's New Works Fellowship and LensCulture Exposure Awards. 

Pixy had her first public exhibition in China in the winter of 2018 at the Jimei x Arles photo festival in Xiamen, where she won the Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award. The young Chinese publishing house Jiazazhi published a book with Pixy for the 10 years of her project, Experimental Relationship. The book, entitled Experimental Relationship Vol. 1 2007-2017, obtained a special mention from the Jury of Aperture/Paris Photo PhotoBook Awards at Paris Photo 2018.

Pixy Liao,  Soft Heeled Shoes , 2013, 3D printed soft heels, suede shoes, metal, 7 x 3 x 7 inches

Pixy Liao, Soft Heeled Shoes, 2013, 3D printed soft heels, suede shoes, metal, 7 x 3 x 7 inches

In your series Experimental Relationship and For Your Eyes Only, you explore the question of gender identity and of women’s representation in today’s world. This matter seems to be central in your work: in Soft-heeled shoes (2013), you wear a pair of high heels shaped like your boyfriend’s penis; in Breast Spray (2015), you use a silicone breast, and spray milk on your boyfriend (as seen in Milking the garden), reclaiming what is being sexualized in womanhood and turning it into a contradictory weapon, both feeding and attacking. Could you develop your views on that topic?

I make art based on my feelings growing up as a girl in China, and on how I feel as a woman in today’s world. I have a lot of questions on why people all say they feel the same way when I don’t feel that way at all. For example, why are high-heeled shoes so sought-after, when they are just a piece of torture for me? Or why should women be seen as mothers and lovers only? Am I less feeling like a woman? With so many doubts accumulated over the years, I try to answer those questions for myself in my work.

In the photo series Experimental Relationship and For Your Eyes Only, on view at Jimei x Arles, you give the viewer a glimpse of your personal space. You represent your boyfriend and yourself in your pictures: your bodies, your relationship, your intimacy. How do you feel about sharing this intimacy?

All the photographs are staged. Even though they seem to be in intimate settings, these are the images I intended to create for the public. When we are in the photos, we are performers for the camera, to create an image. We are not completely ourselves.

Do you think it is important to be both behind and in front of the camera?

Yes, I think for this project, it is important to be both behind and in front of the camera. Behind the camera, I’m the photographer, the director of the scene. In front of the camera, I’m playing a role that I designed. It’s important that I’m both the photographer and the model, because the project springs from my real life.

It is important that I’m both the photographer and the model, because the project springs from my real life
— Pixy Liao

Why did you call your series Experimental Relationship?

In the beginning, as a Chinese woman, dating a younger man who is also Japanese, just did not seem to be something that would last. So I called it an experiment — just to see how long it would last. I guess in general, all relationships are like experiments, more or less.

How do you feel about showing this series in your homeland, China, in a public event, for the first time? How did you work on the exhibition concept with your curator, Holly Roussell?

This is the first time I’m showing this project in a public photo festival in China. To be honest, I had doubts before showing it. With my past experience, I would always avoid showing this project in any Chinese photo festivals, because of the censorship and public reception reasons. But to my surprise, this time, we had no censorship problem. And after talking to the audience, I’m delighted to find out that many people, young and old, are interested in my photos with a much more open mind than years ago. I’m happy to see that Jimei x Arles has successfully brought an international photo festival to China.

Holly contacted me for the exhibition. At that time, I was still not sure about showing this work in public in China. Fortunately, she convinced me to participate. The show is mostly arranged by Holly thanks to her hard work. I just made a few suggestions on photo choices. She had this great idea, showing my two projects together and using a wallpaper I designed to separate the two projects. The end result is very satisfying for me.

Pixy Liao receiving the Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award

Pixy Liao receiving the Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award

How do you feel about winning the Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award? Does it change anything for you and for your work?

I was overwhelmed after I was announced to be the winner of Jimei x Arles - Madame Figaro Women Photographers Award. It’s such a great honor and everything just happened very quickly. I didn’t even finish processing the idea that I got the award, and I was immediately interviewed by so much press right after the award ceremony. I still get many press requests from it these days. But I hope to maintain the way I had been working — which is living my normal life and creating work at my own pace. I do look forward to work with Madame Figaro on their photoshoot.

What about your boyfriend? It isn’t the first time you are using him in your art. In A collection of penises, you asked him to shape penises the way he wanted. How does Moro feel about appearing in your work, and participating in it?

Moro is a gem! He accepted my invitation to photograph him from the very beginning. He usually agrees to participate in my work. He is a musician. And he is a very creative man and also a fan of contemporary art. When I asked him to make 100 penises, I let him create them according to his own imagination. He really enjoyed the process of making the penises in different shapes. As for photos, we have been doing it for more than 12 years now. He now sees it as part of our life, or just something fun that we do together. If I stopped photographing for a while, he would always encourage me to photograph again.

You said that because your boyfriend is Japanese and you are Chinese, this project also describes a “love and hate relationship”. Could you develop a bit on how you are representing, through your personal transnational relationship, a political relation between two countries?

Japan and China have a long and complicated history. It’s usually tense, sometimes hostile. But at the same time, these two countries influence each other so much. Our history is intertwined. I see it somewhat like a love and hate relationship, in a way that is similar to our own personal relationship. I think anyone who has ever been in a relationship experienced the love/hate dynamic at some point. As much as you love him/her, there are always times when you cannot put up with your lover. The hatred comes out of love because love is only ideal in our own imagination. Many of my photos can be explained with both love and hate, like when I’m kissing him, I’m choking him at the same time, or when a hug looks both tender and aggressive. A relationship is built by two lovers and also two rivals. Still, I still believe we need to stay together and mend our relationship, just like our countries do.

Your photos had been shown in China already, in publications and private galleries. What feedback did you receive from Chinese audiences? Are there any differences that struck you between the Chinese audience’s reception and the Western audience’s reception of your work?

Compared to Western audiences, the Chinese audience in general is not familiar with contemporary art, art history and different ideas on sexuality. When I’m showing my work in galleries in China, I don’t feel that much of a difference between a Chinese audience and a foreign one. But I will get many random questions if I show it in public. In Western countries, I don’t have that problem. In general, I think the Western audience will like my work — maybe because they think it’s fresh to see some different ideas concerning gender identities, especially coming from Asian artists.

The Asian/Chinese audience feels more connected to my work. Because we come from a similar cultural background. If I have a show in China, there will always be young Chinese girls and women talking to me, telling me how much they like the work.
— Pixy Liao

However, even though my work is better received in the West, I always feel like my work is still viewed as different, other. The work is often viewed as another’s issue in the West, whether they like my work or not. But the Asian/Chinese audience feels more connected to my work. Because we come from a similar cultural background. If I have a show in China, there will always be young Chinese girls and women talking to me, telling me how much they like the work.

What’s next? What project are you working on right now?

I’m working on something that does not need to involve Moro, something that is just focused on the female issues.

Can you tell us about PIMO, your music project with Moro?

Moro and I have a band called PIMO. We started collaborating in music in 2011. It started when Moro got  tired of going out to rehearse with his male band members and just wanted to stay home and make music. And there’s me, at home. In our band, Moro is the leader. He composes, performs, records, basically does everything, while I just sing in the band. We usually work on lyrics together. We call ourselves a toy rock band. We sing songs about our common interests in life, like cats and grandmas. You can listen to our music at pimo.bandcamp.com.

 

Find out more about Pixy Liao’s work on her website:
pixyliao.com
and on her social media:
instagram
facebook
twitter