鲁小本,策展人、艺术家:“我总是喜欢那些感觉不那么自命不凡的展览,那些同时可以被普通观众和摄影专业人士所理解的展览。”

鲁小本(1983年出生于荷兰希尔弗瑟姆)是一位住在北京的摄影师,编辑,策展人和收藏家。

他毕业于北京中央美术学院。他与Thijs groot Wassink合作,并取名为WassinkLundgren(瓦辛克•伦德格伦)。他们的作品曾在世界各地的博物馆展出,并获得了众多奖项,包括2010年获得中国学院奖; 2007年其出版物“空瓶子”获得法国阿尔勒摄影节图书奖他们出版了十多本书,其中包括:瓦辛克•伦德格伦还在寻找(2006年),东京东京(2010年) ,鲁小本(2010)状语从句:碰撞(2013年),2013年他们在.FOAM阿姆斯特丹摄影博物馆举办个展期间出版了画册

他们与马丁·帕尔一起编辑了中国摄影书集,自20世纪到现在(2015)。最近,他担任荷兰报纸De Volkskrant的摄影记者,为现代冲突档案馆提供摄影资料。

2018年,他和蒂莫西•普鲁斯共同策划了在集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季上展出的展览“ 能走的就行-中国乡土食材摄影。”展览将形形色色,兼收并蓄的有关中国美食和食品生产的民间摄影汇集起来。

门艺以本次展览为机会,问了艺术家几个问题。

鲁小本

鲁小本

你能否介绍一下你的背景,以及你是如何第一次来中国的?

我从2005年开始访问中国。2005年,当时为了我在荷兰乌特勒支艺术学院的毕业,我去了上海。这是我第一次来到中国,并且我想探索更多的中国0。 2007年,我开始了在中央美术学院摄影硕士学位的学习,从那时起我一直在北京生活和工作。 

过去几年中国哪些项目让你忙碌?

作为一名摄影师,我负责自己的项目同时为荷兰的报社工作。但是近年来我也开始收集摄影作品和摄影类展览的策展工作。2015年年的一个成果是我与英国摄影师兼收藏家马丁·帕尔合作编辑的“ 中国摄影书集,自20世纪到现在 ”的书籍和展览。同时,也。我与开始通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通通现代冲突档案馆合作,并在几年内探索中国民间乡土摄影的丰富文化。

观看鲁小本介绍“中国摄影书集,自20世纪到现在”的采访

东京东京 (2010  年 )

东京东京(2010

你的展览“能走的就行 - 中国乡土食材摄影” ?目前正在集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季进行展览最初你是如何开始研究它的你和你的共同策展人,来自现代冲突档案馆的蒂莫西•普鲁斯,想通过这个项目传达什么?

多年来我一直与现代冲突档案馆保持着联系。他们出版并收集了我之前的一些摄影项目,如“ 东京东京 ”(2010)。几年前,我开始为他们的收藏开始收集中国乡土摄影作品。不仅仅只有食物,所有我发现的有趣东西,我都会收集。你也许会惊讶于一些可以在全国各地的跳蚤市场购买到的非常漂亮的材料。我们想要做这个展览的第一个原因是分享一些我们最好的发现。由于展示全部内容有点太多,所以我们决定将展览内容限制在与食物相关的图片中,因为这些照片在他们本来的用途之外,还从未被在其他地方展示过。

我们想要做这个展览的第一个原因是想和大家分享一些我们最好的发现。
— 鲁小本

你在哪里找到的这些照片?

大多数物品来自跳蚤市场。北京最大,最有名的是潘家园。如果你花了足够的时间穿过所有的货架,你真的可以找到很棒的东西。晚上二手市场也是相当的大的。

你个人觉得哪张照片最令人惊讶或者最有趣?

我个人最喜欢的是“冷冻游戏”中的照片:“ 野鹅·烤野鹅。”当我看到它时,我觉得很好笑因为我想象在一张图画上,把一只活鹅和一只烤鹅放在一起。这就像一个中国人的心态,看着一只鸟的时候想着它必定很美味。非常有意思。

“野鹅·烤野鹅”,信封中的散装卡片,八十年代。图片由现代冲突档案馆提供。

“野鹅·烤野鹅”,信封中的散装卡片,八十年代。图片由现代冲突档案馆提供。

你的展览中最早的照片是在20世纪60年代制作的。有趣的是看到食品摄影如何发展到今天,你看到了这种演变的连续性吗?你如何看待当今社交媒体世界的美食摄影?

在我看来,美食和摄影之间始终存在联系。这种关系就像摄影媒介一样发展。在不久前,斯蒂芬·肖尔(Stephen Shore)用4x5英寸照片拍摄了全国各地的食客吃的食物的,并成为这种艺术方式的创始人之一。在当今社会中,拍摄食物是很常见的,人们经常说到:当晚餐上桌时,让相机先吃。然而,与社交媒体上的许多食物照片不同,和乡土食品摄影合作的好处在于它具有惊人的创造性。

在当今社会中,拍摄食物是很常见的,人们经常说到:当晚餐上桌时,让相机先吃。
— 鲁小本

《能走的就行 - 中国乡土食材摄影》是一个非常不寻常非常特别的展览,从这个幽默的名称到集美市民广场主展厅展览现场的展览空间布置 —— 由桌子和椅子供观众在看食物照片时吃,中国观众对此有何反应?你收到了什么样的反馈?

我在展览现场看到了很多笑容。是展览的颜色,怀旧,混乱,还有瓜子,给大家一种像家一样的感觉。其中一位观众告诉我:“这就像回到我的外婆家“。我认为这是一个很高的赞美。

其中一位观众告诉我:“这就像回到我的外婆家“。我认为这是一个很高的赞美。
— 鲁小本

你与蒂莫西·普鲁斯共同策划了这次展览。你能告诉我们展览组织方面的问题吗?将超大型照片与非常小的照片,相册和瓜子相结合,你的目的是什么?

我们的第一个目的是让人们有宾至如归的感觉,同时,我们希望看到材料创造的视觉爆炸。蒂莫西和我总是喜欢那些感觉不那么自命不凡的展览,那些同时可以被普通观众和摄影专业人士所理解的展览。结合不同的材料让观众可以保持持续的敏锐度。我个人喜欢在展览中坐一会儿,环顾四周。当我们想到瓜子时,我们就不能再忘记它,所以我们必须这样做。

你已经在北京生活了一段时间。在中国的生活经历是如何影响你的工作?

我很难想象如果没有中国的影响,我的工作将会如何。很显然,我的很多项目的主题都是直接与中国联系在一起的,所以从这个意义上来说它确实具有影响力。

你现在在做什么?正在进行的新项目的研究吗?

我整在进行整个展览的项目推进以及我们正在为它制作限量版画册《菜单》,我很想继续沿着这条路走。最近我发现了20世纪70年代早期的一类特别精彩的时尚杂志,这些杂志展现了发现了不同类型的工装服。这绝对令人惊叹。我想做一个完全专注于20世纪50年代到20世纪90年代的时装展览。如果你看自己十年前或者更久以前的服装,每个人应该都会觉得即尴尬又好笑。20世纪80年代的中国时尚非常有趣,我已经有了很多想法,我期待着能够实现它。如果大家对好照片有任何的建议,可以随时发送给我!

 
  • 瓦辛克•伦德格伦网站上了解有关鲁小本的工作的更多内容

  • 关注鲁小本的Instagram和微信公众号:luxiaoben2m

  • 购买展览《能走的就行——中国乡土食材摄影》限量版画册《菜单

Ruben Lundgren, curator and photographer: “I am a fan of exhibitions that feel not so pretentious and can be understood by both the common visitor and the photography elite.”

Ruben Lundgren (born 1983 in Hilversum, the Netherlands) is a Dutch photographer, editor, curator and collector based in Beijing.

He graduated from the Central Academy of Fine Arts and worked as part of the Dutch photographers duo WassinkLundgren. Their works have been exhibited in museums worldwide and they are the recipients of numerous awards, including the China Academy Award in 2010 and the Prix du Livre at Les Rencontres d’Arles 2007 for their publication Empty Bottles. Notable projects include WassinkLundgren Is Still Searching (2006), Tokyo Tokyo (2010), Luxiaoben (2010) and Hits (2013). A retrospect of their work was shown in the FOAM photography museum in Amsterdam in 2013.

Together with Martin Parr, Lundgren co-edited The Chinese Photobook, from the 1900s to the present (2015). Recently he works as a photojournalist for the Dutch newspaper De Volkskrant and sources photography for The Archive of Modern Conflict.

In 2018, Lundgren curated, along with Timothy Prus, the exhibition Anything That Walks at Jimei x Arles international photo festival. Anything That Walks — Vernacular Food Photography From China brings together a disparate and eclectic collection of amateur photos and photo albums of Chinese food and food production.

Doors asked him a few questions on this occasion.

Ruben Lundgren

Ruben Lundgren

Can you tell us a bit about your background, and how you first came to China?

Yes, I've been visiting China since 2005. For my graduation on the Utrecht School of the Arts in the Netherlands, I went to Shanghai. It was my first encounter with any place in China and I wanted to explore more. In 2007, I started my masters studying photography at the Central Academy of Fine Arts and I have been living and working in Beijing ever since. 

What are the projects that have been keeping you busy these past few years in China?

I've always worked as a photographer doing my own projects and work for a Dutch newspaper as well. But in recent years I also started to collect photography and curate photography shows with it. One outcome in 2015 was the book and exhibition The Chinese Photobook, from 1900s to the present that I made in collaboration with British photographer and collector Martin Parr. I also started to work with the Archive of Modern Conflict and explore the rich culture of Chinese vernacular photography for a few years now. 

Watch the interview of Lundgren by Aperture about The Chinese Photobook

Tokyo Tokyo  (2010)

Tokyo Tokyo (2010)

Your exhibition Anything that walks - Vernacular food photography from China is currently on view at Jimei x Arles. How did you first start working on it and what did you and your co-curator Timothy Prus from The Archive of Modern Conflict want to convey through this project?

I've been in touch with the Archive of Modern Conflict for many years. They published and collected some of my previous photography projects like Tokyo Tokyo (2010). A few years ago, I started to collect Chinese vernacular photography for their collection. Not only food related but really anything I found that was interesting, I would collect. You would be surprised of some of the beautiful materials that can be bought at flea markets all over the country. The first reason we wanted to do this show is to share some of our best finds. Since it’s a bit too much to show it all we decided to limit ourselves to food related images as many of these photographs have never been seen outside the small circle they were made for originally. 

The first reason we wanted to do this show is to share some of our best finds.
— Ruben Lundgren

Where did you find these photos?

Most of the items come from flea markets. The biggest and most famous in Beijing would be Panjiayuan. If you spend enough time going through all the shelves you can really find great stuff. The online second hand market is also pretty big. 

Which photo(s) do you think is the most surprising or interesting?

My personal favorite would be the photo from the box "Frozen Game" titled: Wild goose, Roast wild Goose. It made me laugh when I saw it. I guess that has to do with the dry layout of the photograph placing a living and roasted goose next to each other. It’s like a Chinese mindset looking at the bird as something that may taste good. So funny. 

Wild goose. Frozen game , loose set of cards in envelope, 1980s. Courtesy of The Archive of Modern Conflict

Wild goose. Frozen game, loose set of cards in envelope, 1980s. Courtesy of The Archive of Modern Conflict

The earliest photos in your exhibition were made in the 1960s. It’s interesting to see how food photography has evolved up until today. Do you see a continuity in this evolution? What do you think of food photography in today’s social media world?

There is an absolute link. In my belief, there has always been a connection between beautiful food and photography. This relation has evolved just like the medium of photography. It wasn’t so long ago that Stephen Shore made his 4x5 inch photographs of the food he ate in diners across the United States and became one of the artistic founders of this tradition. In society nowadays it is so common to photograph your food that one can easily say: when dinner is served, the camera eats first. Unlike many of the food photographs on social media however, the nice thing about working with vernacular food photography is that it is surprisingly creative. 

In society nowadays, it is so common to photograph your food that one can easily say: when dinner is served, the camera eats first.
— Ruben Lundgren

Anything that walks is a very unusual and particular exhibition, from the humorous title to the spatial arrangements in the Jimei Citizen Square Main Exhibition hall – with tables and chairs for the visitor to eat at while looking at pictures of food. How did the Chinese audience react to it? What kind of feedback did you receive?

I have seen many smiles in the exhibition. It’s the colors, the nostalgia, the messiness and of course the sunflower seeds that give a feeling like home. Or how one of the visitors told me: "It’s like walking into my grandmother’s place". I took that as a huge compliment. 

One of the visitors told me: “It’s like walking into my grandmother’s place”. I took that as a huge compliment. 
— Ruben Lundgren

You co-curated the exhibition with Timothy Prus. Can you tell us about the organization of the exhibition? What was your aim when combining extra-large prints to very small ones, to photo books and sunflower seeds?

Our first aim would be for people to feel at home and, at the same time, we wanted a visual explosion of materials. Both Timothy and I are a fan of exhibitions that feel not so pretentious and can be understood by both the common visitor and the photography elite. Combining different materials keeps the audience sharp. I personally love to sit a while in an exhibition and have a look around. When we thought about the sunflower seeds we simply could not unthink about it anymore and had to do it. 

You have been living in Beijing for some time now. How has living in China influenced your work?

It’s hard for me to imagine how my work would have been without the influence of China. Obviously many of my projects are directly linked by topic to China so in that sense it has definitely been influential.  

What are you cooking up nowadays? Any sneak peek on new projects you’re working on?

Well, the whole project with the exhibition and also with the limited edition book MeNu we made for it, I am tempted to do continue in this line. Recently I found this wonderful fashion magazine about different types of workers clothes in the early 1970s. It’s absolutely stunning. I thought about doing a show completely focused on fashion from 1950's till let’s say the 1990s. Everybody knows how embarrassingly funny it can be if you look at your own outfit from a decade ago or longer. Fashion in the 1980s in China was so much fun, I already have plenty of ideas for this and am looking forward to realize it. If anybody has some suggestions for good photographs feel free to send them to me !