田霏宇,北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心馆长:“展示现代艺术的同时,也意味着与UCCA给大众提供了解艺术的机会,建立中国与世界联系的使命同步。”

田霏宇

田霏宇

Philip Tinari(田霏宇),中国当代艺术领域具有影响力的评论家、策展人与艺术史学家。本科毕业于杜克大学文学和历史学系,硕士毕业于哈佛大学东亚文化研究专业。2011年起,他开始担任北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心(UCCA)馆长。

2019年6月15日至9月1日,北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心将展出迄今为止中国最重要的毕加索特展“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”展览,这次展览由艾米利娅·菲利普策展,将国立巴黎毕加索美术馆的103件作品带到北京。

田霏宇在艺术界有许多不同的角色:他策划了超过60场的展览,以及多场公共活动及发展性项目。他为中国带来了包括罗伯特·劳森伯格,艾默格林与德拉塞特,梁慧圭,威廉·肯特里奇,Taryn Simon和提诺·赛格尔在内的国际艺术家,并通过回顾和研究艺术家来追溯中国不断发展的艺术事件,包括赵半狄,曾梵志,刘韡,徐震,王克平,王兴伟,顾德新,同时还有聚焦新兴艺术家的展览:“例外状况:中国境况与艺术考察2017”,“ON | OFF:中国年轻艺术家的观念与实践”(2013年)。2009年,他牵头创办了双语国际艺术杂志《艺术界》(《LEAP》)。他也曾是国际艺术杂志《艺术论坛》(《Artforum》)中文网的创始主编。

 借“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”展览准备之际,Doors门艺有机会对田霏宇进行了专访,就尤伦斯当代艺术中心的未来,中国当代艺术,和毕加索对于中国的影响这几个方面提出几个问题。

 

尤伦斯当代艺术中心将在6月展出“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”大展。对于在一个通常更注重当代艺术的机构中举办这个艺术史上最著名的艺术家的作品,您有何感想呢?

UCCA向现代化发展和UCCA向公众带来优秀艺术和创造中国与世界之间的联系的使命紧密相连。这个展览能够提高公众对于我们平时展出的现代作品的鉴赏力。

位于北京798艺术区的尤伦斯当代艺术中心

位于北京798艺术区的尤伦斯当代艺术中心

您对本次展览有何期待? 您希望从中获得什么反馈?

我一直认为,中国是一个在世界范围内有权威的存在,而北京作为中国的首都,这种水准、质量的展览应该是经常有的。但出于种种原因,现实并不是这样的。最重要的是,我希望毕加索的艺术名气可以吸引一些观众来到UCCA,也许他们并不知道自己对艺术感兴趣,但是通过这次展览,我们至少可以将其中的一些人变为艺术爱好者和回头观众。

《兄弟俩》,戈索尔,1906夏,80x59cm,国立巴黎毕加索美术馆  ©️ Succession Picasso 2019

《兄弟俩》,戈索尔,1906夏,80x59cm,国立巴黎毕加索美术馆

©️ Succession Picasso 2019

中国首次举办毕加索的展览是1983年在中国美术馆,6月在UCCA举办的毕加索展览是自那以后的第一次:1983年的那次展览是如何影响当地艺术界的呢?和现在将在UCCA举办的毕加索展览又有什么关系呢?

有趣的是,1983年的展览并没有像几年后罗伯特·劳森伯格的展览那样被广泛地记住。在那个早期的改革时代,事情发展的很快,某些重要的艺术家正在进行实验,但是现代艺术并不没有实现真正的“公共化”。我们很高兴,首次展览中的一些作品将在35年后重返北京。今天的背景发生了很大的变化,观众里包括经常出国旅行的经验丰富的观众,和更多的期待看到这些作品的观众们。并且这种类型的展览,这是第一次。

值得注意的是,这不是一个巡回展览,而是一个专门针对中国观众组织和策划的伟大的博物馆的藏品的特别展示。策展人艾米莉亚·菲利普(Emilia Philippot)用她熟知的系列藏品讲述了毕加索是如何成为了毕加索的故事。这个故事也和今天的中国有着莫大的关系,今天的中国有许许多多的人在思考着创造力、想象力和创新的意义与重要性。

毕加索创造了一个围绕现代艺术的全球性对话,所有艺术家都直接或间接地参与过其中。
— 田霏宇

毕加索的作品如何影响中国艺术家? 展览如何反映这种影响?

坦白说,我认为毕加索的创新和贡献影响了围绕现代艺术和当代艺术的整个对话。他对中国的具体影响在吴雪杉的一篇文章中进行了探讨,这篇文章也将出现在展览画册中,但更重要的是,毕加索如何围绕现代艺术创造了一个全球性的对话,所有艺术家都直接或间接的,全部或部分的参与了这个对话。

自2011年底以来,您一直担任北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心的馆长,在此之前也一直在中国生活,工作。 自从您参与到中国艺术界以来,您目睹了哪些重大变化?

最显著的变化是当代艺术如何从一小部分内部人士的实践和讨论演变为一个拥有自己的机构,媒体,市场和人员的文化产业。我认为当代艺术在中国的作用是特殊的——他为社会提供了一个地方,形成了当前的欢乐与焦虑,并可以讨论和设想集体未来。如果没有这种演变,UCCA和这次展览都是不可想象的。

点击此处了解更多关于“毕加索——一个天才的诞生”
您可以通过ucca.org.cn了解更多关于北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心的信息,并通过田霏宇的官方推特账号了解更多,

Philip Tinari, Director of UCCA Center for Contemporary Art: “Moving toward the modern is very much in keeping with UCCA’s mission of bringing great art to its public and creating connections between China and the wider world”

Philip Tinari

Philip Tinari

Born in Philadelphia, Philip Tinari holds a B.A. from the Program in Literature at Duke and an M.A. in East Asian Studies from Harvard. Writer, critic, curator and expert in Chinese contemporary art, Tinari has been serving as director of UCCA Center for Contemporary Art (Beijing) since 2011.

UCCA organizes the most important exhibition of work by Pablo Picasso ever to take place in China: Picasso. Birth of a Genius (15 June-1 September 2019), curated by Emilia Philippot, which brings 103 works from Musée national Picasso-Paris to Beijing. 

Philip Tinari has taken on many roles in the art world: he has mounted more than sixty exhibitions and organized a wide range of public programs and development initiatives. He has brought to China international figures including Robert Rauschenberg, Elmgreen & Dragset, Haegue Yang, William Kentridge, Taryn Simon, and Tino Sehgal, and has tracked China's evolving art scene through retrospectives and surveys of artists including Zhao Bandi, Zeng Fanzhi, Liu Wei, Xu Zhen, Wang Keping, Wang Xingwei, Kan Xuan, and Gu Dexin, as well as exhibitions focused on emerging artists such as The New Normal: Art, China, and 2017ON | OFF: China's Young Artists in Concept and Practice (2013). In 2009, he launched LEAP, an internationally distributed, bilingual art magazine published by the Modern Media Group. He is a contributing editor of Artforum and was the founding editor of that magazine's online Chinese edition. He also serves on advisory boards including the Guggenheim Asian Art Council and the gallery committee at the Asia Society Hong Kong Center.

Doors had the opportunity to sit with Philip Tinari before the opening of the Picasso. Birth of a Genius exhibition and ask him a few questions about the future of UCCA, Chinese contemporary art, and the influence of Picasso in China.

 

UCCA is presenting “Picasso. Birth of a Genius” this June. How do you feel about showing the works of one of the most important artists in art history in an establishment that is usually more centered on contemporary art?

Moving toward the modern is very much in keeping with UCCA’s mission of bringing great art to its public and creating connections between China and the wider world. This exhibition will only deepen our public’s appreciation for the more contemporary shows that are our more normal offering.

UCCA in Beijing’s 798 Art District

UCCA in Beijing’s 798 Art District

What expectations do you have concerning this exhibition? What feedback are you hoping to receive from it?

I have always believed that if we accept that China is a global presence and power, and as Beijing is its capital, exhibitions of this caliber and quality should be a regular occurrence. For many reasons, they are not. More than anything, I hope that the artistic renown of Picasso will attract audiences to UCCA who might not otherwise know they are interested in art, and that we can convert at least some of them into art lovers and repeat visitors.

picassoaffiche.jpg

The first Picasso exhibition in China was organized at NAMOC (National Art Museum of China) in 1983, and the exhibition at UCCA is the first in Beijing since then: How has the 1983 exhibition influenced local audiences? Why is it relevant to show Picasso at UCCA today?

It’s interesting that the 1983 exhibition is not as widely remembered as say that of, for example, Robert Rauschenberg just a few years later. In that early reform era, things were evolving quickly and certain leading artists were experimenting, but there was still not a real “public” for modern art. We are delighted that some of the works included in that initial show will be returning to Beijing more than 35 years later. The context today is much changed, with an audience that includes both sophisticated viewers who regularly travel abroad, and many more who will be encountering these works, and this type of exhibition, for the first time.

It’s important to note that this is not a “touring exhibition,” but rather a focused presentation from a great museum collection organized and curated specifically with the Chinese audience in mind. The curator, Emilia Philippot, is using a collection she knows so well to tell a story about how Picasso became Picasso. And this story is especially relevant in China today where so many people are thinking about the meaning and importance of creativity, vision, and innovation.

Picasso created a global conversation around modern art that all artists since have, directly or indirectly, been a part of.

How has Picasso's work influenced Chinese artists? 

Honestly, I think that Picasso’s innovations and contributions have affected the entire conversation around modern, and then contemporary, art worldwide. His specific influence on China is explored in an essay by Wu Xueshan that appears in the exhibition catalogue, but more than this I think what is key is how Picasso created a global conversation around modern art that all artists since have, directly or indirectly, been a part of.

The Two Brothers , Gosol, summer 1906. 80 x 59 cm. Musée national Picasso-Paris. © Succession Picasso 2019

The Two Brothers, Gosol, summer 1906. 80 x 59 cm. Musée national Picasso-Paris. © Succession Picasso 2019

You have been serving as director of UCCA Beijing since late 2011 but have been living, working in and with China prior to that. Since your earliest involvement with the art scene in China, what major changes have you witnessed?

The most notable change is how contemporary art has evolved from something practiced and discussed by a small circle of insiders into a cultural industry with its own institutions, media, markets, and other actors. I think the role of contemporary art in China is special—it becomes a place for the society to give form to its current joys and anxieties, and to discuss and envision its collective future. Without this evolution, UCCA and this exhibition would be unthinkable.

“Picasso. Birth of a Genius” at UCCA, 15 June-1 September 2019. More info

Follow Philip Tinari on Instagram and Twitter

And come read our interview of Emilia Philippot, head of collections at National museum Picasso-Paris