斯宾塞·斯威尼:“纽约最刺激的地方在于它的文化融合性“

 

出生于1973年,斯宾塞·斯威尼是纽约本土的一位文化巨头——它是一位拒绝被归类的艺术家,创作常以绘画的形式出现,用彩色的光束表达神秘主义波普题材。但同时他还是一位音乐人,一位DJ,更曾创立自己的品牌俱乐部。他就像一管催化剂,一位推动者,不断活跃在纽约最重要的文化创意团体之中。

2018年3月,HdM Gallery北京空间推出展览《纽约之夜》,由斯宾塞·斯威尼担任策展人,门艺专访这位具有多重身份的艺术家。

 

《纽约之夜》策展人斯宾塞·斯威尼。

《纽约之夜》策展人斯宾塞·斯威尼。

门艺:本次在HdM画廊展览的名字为《纽约之夜》,你生活在纽约,展出的艺术家都来自纽约,那么为什么选择纽约这座城市,它的特别之处在哪里?

斯宾塞·斯威尼:对我来说纽约最刺激的地方在于它的文化融合性,各种文化彼此相邻,同时存在并交汇。例如在我居住的纽约下东区,你穿过几个街区就能看到唐人街,而它就在拉丁区和非洲区的旁边,各种不同的社群生活在一起。看到这些不同的文化同时发生是一件令人兴奋的事。这就是纽约让我着迷的地方。

Santos Party House

Santos Party House

您有多重身份,既是艺术家、也是音乐家,还曾拥有自己的俱乐部Lafayette大街上的 Santos Party House),这些不同活动之间的关联是什么?

纽约的艺术社群在于它的群体和结构性。我在自己的俱乐部所做的事与创作有关,为创意社群的共存、交流和创作创造了一个环境。 我的俱乐部就是这样一个空间,它还能让我能够以一种有趣而丰富多彩的方式实现不同的想法。

这也与文化保护有关:很多对艺术和音乐非常重要的事情正在纽约发生,我看到它们正因为在城市里蔓延的商业化而不断消散,想要与之对抗,保留这些活动和创意,因此我建立了自己的夜店。

音乐是我从小就接触的东西,很小的时候我就在和乐队合作并演奏自己的音乐。在我的成长阶段,从事视觉艺术的同时,也一直进行音乐创作。我无法将二者分开。

两种艺术彼此滋养,谈论音乐是我与纽约艺术家建立关系的催化剂,我因此建立起很多亲密的关系和友谊。

《纽约之夜》展览中的所有艺术家都是你的朋友,所以这个展览更像你的个人文化的展示,因为它来自于你的个人团体。

是的,他们都是我很亲密的朋友。有年轻和年长的朋友,也有新朋友。我为这个展览设置的框架是一个以时间为线索的日志,展示我在纽约生活至今的个人体验,带有自传性和日记元素。 我想也许通过这种方式,我可以展现存在于纽约的艺术家群体,并将它带到北京这样的地方,因为大家都对这个群体很感兴趣。

为什么来到这里, 为什么选择HdM画廊?

HdM画廊的创始人Hadrien de Montferrand曾找过我,他与我在巴黎的合作伙伴提到想举办一个纽约艺术家的展览,因此通过这个人我们相约在纽约见面,他建议我来北京做展览。我觉得从文化的角度来说这很有趣,各种想法随之产生,最后我决定放弃保守的做法而采取更开放的心态,因此涉及的艺术家越来越多,我们本来只想展出四名艺术家,最终确定了17名!

你想把这个艺术家群体介绍给中国观众,那么你有想过向中国观众传递什么信息吗?

没有具体的信息。 观众也许看完展离开什么也没有感受到。展览基本上是在尝试呈现纽约艺术家团体,而且这也非常受限,因为这只是我一个人的经验,但是我仍然觉得以此为框架,尝试赋予在纽约发生的种种事情某种意义。

不少中文网站介绍你与迪奥的合作,你曾为它们设计过合作款包包,你也和其它的时尚品牌合作,这是一种怎样的经历?

迪奥曾经来找过我,问我是否有兴趣合作进行设计。 对我来说,将我的创作用另外的方式呈现,结合打印以及不同的工序,看到不同的效果在进行不断的尝试听起来是一件很有趣的事情,而且事实上这也的确是一次很有意思的经历!

任何一种形式的创造都需要一定的痛苦体验。无论哪种方式都会产生一定的痛苦,从而创造出所有东西。

你的自画像看起来都很快乐多彩,但是同时又让人感受到某种痛苦。

我觉得这一点存在于各种需要创意的活动中,即使你在写一出喜剧,尝试让观众大笑,接收一些幽默或者快乐的想法,但是不可避免的,创作过程中会有很多艰苦的工作和痛苦。任何一种形式的创造都需要一定的痛苦体验。不管最后你画的是一张轻松幽默的作品还是一种黑暗的经历,无论哪种方式都会产生一定的痛苦,从而创造出所有东西。

 

点击了解更多展览信息

 阅读斯宾塞·斯威尼的普鲁斯特问卷

阅读邢丹文读专访

Spencer Sweeney: "That is what fascinates me about New York City"

 

Born in 1973, Spencer Sweeney is New York Downtown's cultural magnate. As an artist, he defies categories, even if most of his practice revolves around painting, which often beams with colors through mystical pop themes. He is also a musician, and a former club owner and a DJ. For the past 20years, he has been the catalyst, the galvanizer, the activator of one of the most creative communities of New York City.

In March 2018, HdM Gallery Beijing presents "New York by Night", Spencer Sweeney's artistic journey through the streets of the New York from the late 90's until today. On the occasion of the opening of this exhibition, Doors interviews this uniquely charismatic artist.

Curator of the exhibition  New York by Night : Spencer Sweeney.

Curator of the exhibition New York by Night: Spencer Sweeney.

Doors: The exhibition that you curated at HdM Gallery is entitled “New York by night”. You live in New York, as well as all the artists – who are all your friends – participating in the show. Where does this fascination for New York City come from?

Spencer Sweeney: To me, the most stimulating and exciting part of New York City is how many different cultures coexist in close proximity at the same time. What you are able to take in is all those different communities at once. Like in the Lower East Side where I lived for most of my time in New York: you walk down the street and you have Chinatown right next to the Latin community and the African American community and they’re all taking up the same space. For me, it’s very stimulating to see all of this happening at once and all of the cultures going off right next to each other.

That is what fascinates me about New York City.

Santos Party House

Santos Party House

You are an artist, but also a musician, and you used to run a club (Santos Party House on Lafayette St). What is the link between these different activities?

One thing that I find very important about the artistic community in NYC is the sense of community and structure. My time with producing the nightclub had to do with creating an environment for the creative community to coexist, to converse and to create. It was kind of like setting up a room for that to happen and being able to apply different ideas for how that might happen in an interesting and colorful way.

Enabling that had to do with cultural preservation anyway. There is things going on in NYC that are so important to art and music and you see them slipping away because of the commercialization spreading in the city. It was kind of a fight to preserve these activities and these ideas. That was the idea for the nightclub.

Music is just something that I intuitively engaged with since I was a young child. I found myself collaborating and playing my own music in bands and such. It was always going on at the same time as what I am and as my practice with visual arts. I can’t really separate the two.

One thing feeds the other: conversations about music are the catalyst of these relationships that I build with artists in NYC.

All the artists shown in “New York by night” are your friends, and the exhibition seems like a rendering of your own personal culture and community.

Yes, these are all my friends, close relationships of mine. Some much older than the others, some much newer. The framework that I decided to explore for this show is like a journal entry, a chronicle of my personal experience from the time when I arrived in NYC until now. There is an autobiographical element to it, it is like a diary or journal in a way. I thought maybe through doing that, we could create a representation of some of the artistic community that exists in NYC and bring it to a place like Beijing. Because people are curious about this community.

So why come show this in Beijing at HdM Gallery?

I was approached by Hadrien de Montferrand (founder of HdM Gallery). He was speaking to somebody who I’ve worked with in Paris and he wanted to make a show curated of New York artists. He spoke to his friend and came to New York and we met. He asked me to curate a show in Beijing consisting of New York artists. I thought it would be an interesting thing culturally. A few different ideas arose, and I ended up with an expansive approach rather than a reductive one. It sort of grew with more and more artists, we started with the idea of 4 artists and ended up with 17!

You want to present this community to the Chinese public. Do you have a particular message for this public?

There is not so much of a message. People may leave with an idea of what the feel is. It’s basically just an attempt to represent the creative community in New York through my personal experience. Of course it is very limited because it’s just one person’s experience but I thought that it could provide a good framework to try and give a sense of what’s going on in New York.

Chinese websites talk very much about your collaboration with Dior. You’ve done the design for their bags. Can you tell us more about this experience?

Dior came to me and asked me if I’d be interested in collaborating on a design. To me, it sounded really interesting to apply some of my works to prints, merge different processes together and see what comes back and then rework. And it was interesting! 

There’s a certain amount of pain that is involved in any creative process.

Your portraits are very happy and colorful, and at the same time seem to depict people who are suffering.

I believe that this is very common with many different types of creative activities - even if you are writing comedy, that’s something that is supposed to make people laugh and enjoy ideas in a joyous, humorous way. There’s a lot of grueling work and inevitably suffering going into the process of creating. There’s a certain amount of pain that is involved in any creative process. And whether at the end you are painting a picture that is light-hearted and humorous or it’s more of a dark experience, either way there is a due amount of suffering that goes into creating anything.

 

More information about New York by Night

Read Spencer Sweeney's Proust Questionnaire

Read Xing Danwen's Interview